Average Jane



Love on sale? How could I say no…

From the anals of “OMG My Mom is So Fucking Cool,” another nugget of maternal wisdom:

Jane: Hey, mom… so, eHarmony is having a sale. It’s like ten bucks a month for 3 months or something. You think I should join?

Mom: *after a slight pause* How many drinks would that buy?

Jane: Um, like 5 or 6?

Mom: So if you find someone to buy you 5 or 6 drinks…?

And that is why my mom is, yet again, really fucking awesome.

Jury is still out on the whole signing up thing. Jdate has clearly been a gigantic clusterfuck. Could eHarmony really be better?


    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mothers and the Zen of Jewish Dating « Average Jane pingbacked on 4 years, 9 months ago

Comments

  1. * Katherine says:

    have you tried OK Cupid?

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  2. * Becca says:

    There are only five Jews on eHarmony, don’t ask me how I know.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  3. * PRSlaveDC says:

    eHarmony will brainwash you and turn you into a smiling illiterate zombie… please don’t join, I don’t ever want to see you on one of those commercials.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  4. * zipcode says:

    eharmony was a waste of money for me last summer. I didn’t like it and its a lot of trouble to talk to someone of there. You have to answer multiple choice questions if someone likes you and then the next process is essay type questions. I found it lame. However when they have their sales is the best time to try it. Good luck if you decide.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  5. * Belle says:

    Run away! Run away! :)

    (Hehe. I haven’t even tried the eHarmony. But I keep hearing the bad stuffs…)

    OKCupid is… well, the jury’s still out on that. But at least that one’s free…

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  6. * Patrick says:

    I heart the math on this post.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  7. * Emily says:

    I didn’t like eHarmony, but I recently tried the online dating thing again and have found Chemistry.com to be somewhat better. At least I have three dates lined up.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
  8. * So D.C. says:

    I actually just got engaged to somebody I met on eHarmony (although we both think the people in the commercials and who have pictures of Neil Clark Warren on display at their weddings are super creepy).

    It’s the only service I ever tried, and although it worked well for us, I can definitely see why some people don’t like it. It took me almost two months of doing it to meet the right person. One of my best friends has tried them all, though, and she definitely thinks that eHarmony produced much better quality people right off the bat, perhaps because it involves more of a time commitment and costs more (at least usually).

    So I say go for it. Your mom is totally right that you’ll at least get a few free drinks out of it.

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

