Average Jane



The Truth About Jane

Stuck at an airport across the ocean with only expensive, slow wifi on my phone to connect with the outside world, I had to be creative when it came to telling mom that my flight out of London had been delayed 4 hours. The only feasible plan was a relay from my phone to instant message to phone or text back home. But who the hell was online that knew my mom? Answer – no one.

“Hey, Tom – Are you shy?”

Tom was a guy I met on OKCupid who isn’t *really* a romantic prospect, but is a riot and super good guy.

“Not at all.”

Perfection. “So, um, can you call my mom?”

“Absolutely. What’s her name, number, and what do you want me to tell her?”

Thus began the friendship between my mom and Tom which spanned 4 or 5 phone calls after 3 or 4 additional delay, and which culminated today in a meeting at my coffee shop that went particularly well.

Until this:

“So, tell me about Jane’s dating life.”

After a pregnant pause, mom responded… carefully.

“She’s… selective.”

I burst out laughing. Couldn’t help it. She is rarely so right, so funny, and so awkward all at once. And his face was priceless.

What can I say mom? It’s the truth. Ish.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Catherine says:

    Haha. Selective is much better than picky :)

    | Reply Posted 4 years ago
    • * Average Jane says:

      If my mom was feeling slightly less restrained, I’m sure she would have had some other choice words for my dating habits. Bless her heart. My grandma told me I should settle. Not settle down, just … settle.

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 12 months ago
  2. * Toddy says:

    First time reader. I must admit Ive had a god awful day and am cranky and restless riding home on the metro. This was light, fun, well-written, concise and made me smile and forget my case of the mondays if only for a minute or two so thanks. Also, i know we like who we like who we like, esp. When it comes to physical looks and chemistry but maybe OkCupid guy deserves a fair shake beyond the normal not-interested-in-him guy. He sounds like a good sport. Cheers, T.

    | Reply Posted 4 years ago
    • * Average Jane says:

      May I just say, I am so jealous of your cranky, restless metro ride. I do so miss public transportation in this crazy town. OkCupid guy is absolutely a good sport. My mom loves him. Not bad to look at, and tattooed (mmmmmm). I’ve decided to not completely blow this one off, but rather slowthefuckdown and realize I’m not racing anywhere. I don’t have to summarily write people off before getting to know them better. Welcome to the blog, btw! You inspired me to write more on the off chance someone else starts reading.

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

