Average Jane



The "Touch It" Generation

We are a godless generation, and why? I guess there are a lot of reaons: wars, scandals, evangelical governments… but really, what is it that is so terrible about religion and why is God so “uncool” these days?

If you know me you know I’m Jewish. I suppose if you had to label me I’d be a “spiritual jew”, a “cultural jew” rather than a “practicing jew” mostly because I don’t attend services and don’t celebrate many of the holidays or practice many of the customs “practicing jews”, well, practice. I do, however, try my best to believe in God.

Generation Y is a tough nut to crack. We are the “prove it” generation. The generation that has seen a remarkable technological boom that has in effect divided people whilst uniting them. We are the “now” generation. I want it now, I need it now, I’ll program it myself if you can’t create it now generation. We don’t have patience and we don’t have faith.

Whatever happened to hope? Have we seen too much disappointment to have hope? The Depression Era babies lived through heartache and hell and still had hope for a better life. They sacrificed, they scraped, but they still had that faith that a better tomorrow would come. Can our generation say that they have that faith? When times are tough, who do we turn to? Our broken homes? Our unhappy parents? Our friends with better things to do? We could turn to God, but God is intangible and our generation needs to “touch it” to believe it.

I guess I don’t understand what’s so wrong with believing in something. I’m not starting any wars. I’m not making you believe. I’m not telling you do to a damn thing. I guess all I’m saying is not that I do believe, but I want to believe. I need to believe, because when all else fails me and it always does, I need to at least think that there is something else out there with a plan.

I may not believe in gravity (long story) but I know it exists. I may not believe in love, but I’m told it’s out there. Why are these things that we cannot touch alright to believe in, but religion, faith, community are not? There are a certain few who ruin beautiful things, who further mar and already imperfect establishment. I guess I ask that if you don’t have faith, try it sometime. Maybe not in God. Maybe have faith in man. Have faith in something, because pretty soon faith may be all we have.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. You can experience love, you experience gravity everyday, have you ever experienced god ?
    I never did, and certainly never will since apparently even the more faithful people only get to experience faith, or hope, or strength, or whatever that supposedly god provides them. Not god itself. And don’t think it’s a good thing to give away the credit of what you do to some entity you’ve been told about by other people, who themselves had also been told about it by other ppl.

    I have a lot of faith in human beings however, I know how strong we can be, how good, how loving and how loveable, as well as how mean, and what cowards we can be, but in the end I stick with the idea we’re born naturally good, and that we’re all able to get back to it if we go in the right direction. And there’s no way I’m gonna let any god get the credit for who I am, who I’ll become and what I’ll do, good or bad, that’s me, I’m moved by my own will (as well as a fair amount of natural instinct), I’m my own creation, and I made myself in my own image.

    on another lvl, the very concept of god is flawed, purely logically speaking. But it would take a much longer comment, and I’m supposed to go take driving code lessons. We could talk about it on msn/ym, if you feel like it and if someday we get to see each other online.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

