Average Jane



The power of panties

My first night out back in the DC metro area was, I would say, a rousing success. Not only did I meet up with Val (my superfun colleague), I got to meet her superfun friends. [NOTE: Val and all of her friends are decidedly, if not disturbingly, attractive. Val says it’s because she’s only friends with attractive people. I think it’s similar to my rule of only being friends with people who don’t suck.]

The sense of ease I felt around this particular group of friends was alarming. After my initial bout of anxiety, I shaved my sadly ignored legs, put on my rockin’ new bra, super fun panties, and hit the town. Now, it should be noted that I had absolutely no intention of anyone actually feeling my newly shorn legs, or seeing my cleavage-inducing bra, or pink trimmed, cammo panties. But, for some reason, they gave me the confidence to head into the social jungle that is DC. Ladies, any insight into this phenomenon?

DC is exactly as I had remembered. Lots of smart, attractive people, dressed decidedly well, talking about things of import. The only thing missing was the pretense. I shall not complain. The conversation meandered from the peacecorps to the 2008 elections to VD and Britney Spears(a natural progression, duh!). In the middle, I got to know some of the nicest, most interesting people I’ve met in a long time.

In my continued quest to leave 2006 clearly in the past, I went into last night with as much positivity as I could muster. Petrified that I would be disappointed, fearful that I would go home in tears, I sucked it up, put on my brave pants (cammo with hot pink trim, remember?), and took a leap of faith.

No one there knew the pain I am so desperate to forget. They will, more than likely. But for one night I could just relax and be… happy.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * 123Valerie says:

    Aw, L. We were so glad to have you and your camo panties and rocking bra. You and your attractiveness totally fit in.

    We’d be glad to have you with or without the stellar undergarments. To many more fun evenings … and days and afternoons. Good things ahead, my dear. Good things, indeed.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Matt says:

    You were probably the only one wearing underwear.

    That was the first I’d really met a random group of blogger-types and everyone really was unpretentious. I was just drunk and stoned and people tended to put up w/ me. A good evening.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Lisa says:

    *Mental Note: Bloggers don’t wear panties.* I’ll work on that for next time, Matt. Promise.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Hey Pretty says:

    ahem. I was totally wearing the proper undergarments required of a proper lady, matt.

    L, last night was great. We will do it again.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

