Average Jane



PostSecret

If you haven’t heard of PostSecret then you’ve surely seen the music video for “Dirty Little Secret” by the All American Rejects. The concept is simple: mail in your secrets to this anonymous address in Germantown, MD and relieve yourself of the burden of your secret. Here are the instructions from the website:

“You are invited to anonymously contribute your secrets to PostSecret. Each secret can be a regret, hope, funny experience, unseen kindness, fantasy, belief, fear, betrayal, erotic desire, feeling, confession, or childhood humiliation. Reveal anything – as long as it is true and you have never shared it with anyone before.

Create your 4-by-6-inch postcards out of any mailable material. If you want to share two or more secrets, use multiple postcards. Put your complete secret and image on one side of the postcard.”

I am personally fascinated by the idea. As someone with very few secrets, it worries me to think that even my closest friends keep things from me. The world is judgmental and unkind. Many of the secrets speak of hopelessness and despair. Of heartache and pain. Some are silly. Some are mean. But all are honest. Why can’t we all be a little more honest with each other?

I want to share some of my secrets with you.

I have a brother that I have a hard time loving.
My dad talked about suicide once and i took it personally.
Sometimes I want my dog to run away.
I am scared to death of having children.
I am happy for the first time in a year.
I don’t enjoy having sex.
My family doesn’t know half the pain I was in for most of my life.

In the comments: Anonymously post a secret about yourself.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Anonymous says:

    A coworker raped me. Then he gave me a bottle of wine to make me feel better.

    We continued to work on the same project for another year.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Kristin says:

    Brave post, Lisa. And you’re right. We should probably be more honest.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Kristin says:

    (I forgot to post a secret.) I sleep with a light on because I have panic attacks in the middle of the night.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Matt says:

    I’m afraid of black children.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  5. * Anonymous says:

    I left my friend at a bar to go home with a guy. It was the wrong decision. I hope she can forgive me and let my try to earn her trust back.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  6. * kangaman says:

    eh. i thought about posting anon, but i figure, if you can let your secrets out, why hide?
    so here are two.

    i was raped by a family friend when i was a child.

    my grandmother tried to kill my mother and i, by pouring a whole bottle of her hypertension pills into the dinner she made for us.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

