Average Jane



The Shins (and why I hate most technology)

I used to be able to say that I don’t own a DVD player. I really wish I still could, but my lovely new laptop came equipped. It’s actually kind of hard to buy a laptop without a DVD player these days. I have had people tell me for years… “You don’t have a DVD player? How do you live? They only cost like $20! Hell, I’ll just buy you one.”

I am still waiting on about 6 DVD players.

Point being, technology and I don’t get along. Most new gadgets and gismos just elude me. Some just piss me off. That is where I find you today.

Technologies I hate, and why:

Palm pilots- The reason for this post. Last night I went to an incredible show. The Shins were at DAR and they put on a show that was powerful and perfect. Most of the time I was engaged in the band’s witty banter with the crowd, adding my own “TAKE IT OFF!!!!” at a few key moments. Other times my mind wandered from gentleman to gentleman, recent encounters, my friends and family… Would have been a perfect evening had it not been for the piercing glow of the palm pilot of the guy next to me. Much like a border collie (or a stoner) I tend to fixate on things, particularly shiny things, so despite my best effort I couldn’t ignore his e-mail checking and internet browsing that lasted approximately 20 minutes. Does he know that it’s annoying? Does the girl in the row in front of me know that her incessant texting is distracting me, and I paid good money (in theory) to be there, too? Am I just a Luddite who needs to get over it? It’s like when people go to a $9 movie and text the whole time. Just because the ringer’s off doesn’t mean the light is! *sigh*

Heelys- Because people are lazy enough as it is! I mean, come on. Kids sit at home all day playing video games, and then when their parents convince (bribe) them to go to the grocery store or the mall, they don’t even walk around. They roll around, and typically right into people. One day these punks will heely into oncoming traffic and I’ll giggle. And I won’t try to hide it either.

GPS- I know, I know. This one seems like it should be a no-brainer. I just think there’s something to following good old directions. And getting lost. I mean, now it even talks to you, interrupting whatever it is you’re listening to on the radio, or butting right into your conversation, like your mom calling up to you while you’re studying to remind you to clean your room… in .2 miles.

I don’t know… Maybe if I could afford this technology (or if I was a 8 year old boy) I wouldn’t be so mad. But it’s for completely selfish reasons that I hate these particular new technologies which negatively impact me, personally, and my enjoyment of the world.

There is one technology that I am all about. And I keep him in my dresser drawer. Oh, BOB.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Matt says:

    He must have been a real dork. Does he text and browse while trying to have sex? He is the alpha dork.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Matt says:

    By the way, this WordPress format has improved. Not bad.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  3. * 123Valerie says:

    Nice digs, lady. Very nice. I refuse to play any video game system beyond the original nintendo. I’m picking up what you’re putting down.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  4. * Laundro says:

    I try and not let assholes ruin things for me – especially innovative electronics and music. I hear ya on the Palms… but I think it’s moved on up to Blackberries. I want to punch people sometimes.

    I kinda want heelies, but the yeah, the kids who have them totally show off. And are in need of a good punching.

    And I hear ya on the GPS… However if you’ve ever used them for making a map and or tracing a route, they are incredible and sickly accurate. But if you have a map and a compass (or the sun) you are a fool to have a GPS. Or you are a loser in an Audi with a small penis.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  5. * the princess says:

    It was great to meet you on Friday and great hanging out with you in S.S. on Saturday afternoon! Sorry about your cousin, and I totally wish I had been at the Shins concert. Damn it. Send me an email soon!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 5 months ago
  6. * Barzelay says:

    I may have been directly in front of you at this show. There was a girl next to me texting constantly, and a guy behind me on a Palm Pilot, and I noticed them as well. And then there was a girl behind me and slightly to the left (presumably you) yelling very loudly and singing along with every song, and when the guitarist yelled something about the girls in the crowd taking their shirts off, the girl behind me (you) yelled, “You first!”

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  7. bob? Oo

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

