Average Jane



The “Happy Blog” Challenge

Last night at approximately 11:30pm I was told by my darling best friend that my blog is a “downer” and that I should write a “happy blog” just for her, even if it’s just one line.  She reminded me, bless her heart, that I have so many wonderful things going on right now, and to stop writing about depression because it’s, well, depressing. Touche.

But I am not one to write one line blogs, so instead, I decided to ask her about the “funnest” thing we ever did together. Turned out that I was surprised by the answer. It wasn’t the grand moments that were the most fun, but the little things.

Every time we drove to the mall was the funnest ride ever.

Every margarita we drank was the tastiest margarita ever (and the best of all was our MoCo margarita crawl).

Every song we belted out was the best song ever; bon jovi, of course, the funnest band ever.

Last night, for the first time in a long time, I thought about the good parts of high school. Of Tuba Christmas scarves and band trips. Of silly crushes (JPOP3) and stalkable substitutes (Mr. Hit-the-floor-again).  I thought about our classes together, like spanish (RESPECT! I give it to you, you give it to me!), and band class with crazy bobby.

She told me last night that in her address book under my job title was “BFFer”. I told her the pay sucked. But I lied.  The pay is great. I have memories that will last a life time. I have someone to remind me to stop being a downer, and to shut up and accept the fact that I’m happy.

Thanks, Deb.

Rove, Risa.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * 123Valerie says:

    It’s true that best friends make everything sweeter.

    I think I saw that on a pillow at Cracker Barrel.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Laundro says:

    I like your blog either way. Even the not so “happy” posts are inspiring. And anyone who says they need no inspiration are liars.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Katherine says:

    The little things are what Deb is good for. Seriously good for. That’s why she’s a BFF.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

