Average Jane



Comment This… Blogger HH Take 2

So, tonight was the infamous Happy Hour. Picketless. Dramaless. Full of GREAT early 90s pop.

The guest list was extensive. The usual suspects in good form:

  • Arjewtino was looking particularly Jewcy and finally brought out the Princess for show and tell. She happens to be one of the raddest people around. We shared a ginger salad and I drank some of the dressing.
  • VK looked moderately like the doorman, and was wearing something-something-black cologne. Whatever it was it smelled DIVINE.
  • I Now Pronounce You officially pronounced me his “little sister”. That explains all the noogies, but not why he calls me “brat”.
  • Attention Span of a Fly continued to prove to me that women will one day take over the world. She’s strong and unapologetic in her fabulousness. You know that person you see at a bar that you know you want to be friends with? Yeah, that’s her. She rules.
  • Candy Sandwich made a surprise appearance. Only a surprise to me because I know her “in 3D” as Work in Progress calls it. She is one of the best writers I’ve seen lately. Can’t get enough!
  • And then there was a new fun blogger, Roissy. Inquisitive little bugger. But funny, and not bad to look at. Read him! Show him love.
  • And there was Roosh. *sigh* Oh, Roosh.
  • Also, there were two of my favorite bloggers noticeably not in attendance (both for fine reasons, but selfishly I wanted them there): A Total Waste of Makeup and i66… who will both me at the American Blogstand event next weekend. Or they BETTER be.

But ya know, it wasn’t the usual characters that stood out on this evening of blogger debauchery. The people that stood out to me were the “commenters”. These are the blog readers who don’t actually write their own blog. These are the names you see again and again on that comment list, sparking debate, driving the conversation to a whole new level. These are the people who we write at… not “for”, not “to”, but at. They are the audience who ask for nothing in return. They aren’t counting blog hits. They aren’t looking at track backs. They are the blog readers who become entwined in our lives without us even knowing it. They are affected by our words and we are in turn affected by theirs.

I suppose in the grand scheme of things, we bloggers are the commenters of every day life. If only there were a comment box for some of the things we see everday: child on leash (how about you actually discipline your kid and put your dog on a leash. Maybe parenting shouldn’t be a right after all.), homeless guy you see begging for money (I’m so sorry I couldn’t help you, homeless guy, but I really do need this money to get home. I really don’t have much to spare. But I would if I could. Promise.), guy steals your taxi (oh, what a little bitch that guy is. he’ll get his. oh, he’ll get his.).

But the world doesn’t come with a tidy little comment box, so we go out there and do the commenting on our own, on our blogs.

I think having commenters at the blogger happy hour brought a whole new dimension to the event. I think they made me remember that while we bloggers read each others blogs, pat one another on the back for a job well done, then look for our handywork in the Post Express Blogroll… there are people out there we are writing at.

So to them…. Thanks.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Arjewtino » Blog Archive » It didn’t say Jewey: A Happy Hour Recap pingbacked on 10 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. yay! a thanks, to me n_n, I mean me as a part of us, us being them, the commenters that is.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  2. * Carrie M says:

    we’re on for American Blogstand, my friend. watch out!

    BRING IT, SISTER!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Jo says:

    Fabulous recap. Thank you so much! I feel all warm and fuzzy inside now.

    I’ll see you again at American Blogstand I hope.

    Warm and fuzzy is my specialty. Don’t let that get around.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  4. * Lisa says:

    Sorry to leave this in comments but I can’t find an email for you and I wanted to thank you so much for your kind, kind message and your support.
    Lisa

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  5. * freckledk says:

    I missed a rare Princess sighting? Damn!

    Looking forward to seeing you Friday. I’ll be joining you in the audience.

    You totally did miss The Princess. But really, she just made the rest of us look bad. She sat in the corner and commanded the attention of all the bloggers in attendance. Her title is most certainly apropos.

    Now, as for karaoke, I have already requested an advance copy of the song list… I am bringing my a game and my credit card. (drinks anyon??)

    BRING IT ON!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  6. * Mandy says:

    YAY! Excellent re-cap.

    I too, rather enjoyed the element of having commenters amongst us.

    Keeps us honest.. or something. 😉

    You certainly had an eventful evening… and thanks for bringing the eyecandy. Way less calories than real candy.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  7. * Jay Gatsby says:

    You’re welcome. We enjoy commenting on your writing as much as we do reading it.

    Keep it coming! I am a little behind on my commenting, actually. Gotta get back on the horse. See? You have inspired me

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  8. * roissy says:

    “inquisitive little bugger”? these are the words you use to describe the anti-christ?

    Well, yeah. Who knew the anti-christ would be such a conversationalist? Maybe the jews did… we are certainly known for our big mouths.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  9. * Mandy says:

    I have no idea what you could be referring to….

    *clears throat*

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  10. * Roosh says:

    Good seeing you, holla.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago
  11. * Kristin says:

    I thought I left a comment! Egad. It was good seeing you. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

