Average Jane



Breathingness – The state of looking forward

Today, I breathe. I am in a state of breathingness. The back door is ajar. The breeze is doing exactly what it should be doing… being breeeeeeeeezy. My feet are up. My hair is a mess. Food Network is on the picture box.

i

am

content.

I am making a conscious decision to not regale you with stories of my weekend, because while it was a hoot (and really, it was.) it was also disappointing. I moved through each engagement mechanically, not stopping to actually be in the moment. It’s a blur, my weekend. (Possibly from the HEAVENLY SANGRIA that Shiftless Badger brought to the Cinco de Mayo/Birthday partay. It happened to be one of the best parties I’ve been to in a long time. That part I remember. There was a pinata w/ and attitude. And two lovely birthday girls in crowns. And chips. And salsa. And margaritas. I. Was. In. Heaven.) Unfortunately, I couldn’t match that loveliness the rest of the weekend.

Anyway, the past is in the past and now I move toward the future.

The future involves the beach. The beach involves a swimsuit. Which I had to buy. “Shopping Trauma.” It’s a bikini. My first bikini. I might not ever wear it, but now I can at least say that at one point in my life I owned a bikini. Just like I can say that at one point in my life I owned a black lace thong with a little red bow.

I digress…

The beach also involves books that I will read whilst doing NOTHING except beaching. The books I have chosen are “The Heart Breaking Work of a Staggaring Genius” by Dave Eggers, and “The Yiddish Policemen’s Union” by Michael Chabon. From what I hear, the latter is more “beachy” and less “cut my wristy”.

The beach also involves by bestest friend and NO BOYS. Best Friend and I are due for a reunion. If you call me this weekend, plan on finding me either a) on the beach, b) in a bar, c) on the bar, or d) at the mall. In most cases, I will have alcohol in my system. I may drunk dial you this weekend. Drunk texting is also a distinct possibility. Be prepared. Forgive me in advance.

Point being…. I have been more stressed out the last 2 weeks than I have been in as long as I can remember (see: November), but now… NOW…

Right now, I am not doing a damn thing and I am loving every fucking moment of it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * anon says:

    very cool very cool

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Jo says:

    More “beachy” and less “cut my wristy”

    Love it! Have fun at the beach! You’ll be missed!

    I am so bummed to miss your big day! But we will totally make up for it at the next Blogger HH. Promise!!!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * junomat says:

    That’s funny… we’re headed to OC tomorrow thru Sat!

    Woo!

    I hope you know where the closest hospital is at all times! Isn’t someone getting ready to pop!?

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * freckledk says:

    I’m imagining the sand between my toes, and am both happy for and jealous of you!

    Rock that bikini, AJ. You’re only young and pretty once. Drink it in.

    I fully plan on being young and pretty twice: once now, and once in 20 years after my boob job, face life, botox, full body lift, and second younger hotty playboy husband. Don’t be silly. No one has to get old or ugly these days…

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * carrie m says:

    yay contentedness. Although I was waiting for the breeze to flow through open windows last night, and it didn’t come…but alas. Anyway, have a lovely weekend. You deserve it. and drunk text all you want! I can make fun of you for it later. 😉

    You totally should have come over and enjoyed MY breeze! I’m always willing to share.

    And thanks for guaranteeing me the humiliation of post-drunk-text ridicule. You’re a real friend. 😉

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Matt says:

    Now that sounds like a plan.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

