Average Jane



Delete. Delete. Delete.

I don’ t know about you, but I have like NO self control when it comes to texting and IMing. If you are the current object of my affection, and I see you online, or in my phone, I’ll be in touch. It’s awful.

So, in order to curb such inclinations, I take no chances: Delete. Delete. Delete.

Never blocked. Just deleted. Because what if they want to contact me, right? RIGHT? Out of sight, out of mind.

You may think, “but you can always remember their screen name, right?” Well, yeah. And some have been added back once the momentary lapse in control passes. It’s like my car radio that is always set 2 minutes fast. Sure. I know it’s fast, but it doesn’t mean it stops me from stepping on the gas when I think i’m running late.

Rationality is not my strong suit sometimes.

So, what wacky shit do YOU do?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Inscrubnito « Average Jane pingbacked on 9 years, 12 months ago
  2. Back on the horse, eh? « Average Jane pingbacked on 8 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. * Belle says:

    Oh, I delete people (screen names, phone numbers, emails) all the time. Repeatedly.
    I also confuse the hell out of myself by setting my clocks fast and my alarms for weird times. 6:32, 10:16… It doesn’t help me get anywhere on time, but it does keep me guessing when it comes to how much snooze is acceptable in the mornings.
    I write a lot of letters that I never send, too. I stumbled on one stuck in my sock drawer the other day that I don’t even remember writing…

    FULL DISCLOSURE: I only set my alarm clock on the 3’s and 7’s. So, for instance, my weekday alarm is set for 7:27. My weekend alarm is set for 9:03. As for letters, I think I need to send more. What’s sad is that since I barely ever write anymore, my poor hand cramps up when I try to write more than a shopping list.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Jo says:

    I don’t use IM anymore, but I used to and did the same thing. I also set my car’s clock 3 minutes fast for the same reason.

    We car clock setters need help. For serious. If we can trick ourselves that easily, something is wrong.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * freckledk says:

    I save voicemails, so that I don’t actually have to talk to the person, but can still hear their voice. It’s sickly comforting.

    I hate voicemails. I don’t know why. It’s absolutely bizarre but I typically delete them halfway through the person talking. I do sometimes keep small trinkets from past not-loves lost. Like a ponytail holder that I broke when I was talking to a boy on the phone. A boy I thought I loved but didn’t. (see: not-love)

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * gn says:

    My roommate and I will delete phone numbers to avoid drunk dialing objects of our affection, but we’ll give the number to each other or write it down at home so it’s not GONE. Self control? Not much.

    That is so wicked smart!!! I need a “safe person” who will only dole out said numbers when it’s a true romantic emergency. Ha!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * I-66 says:

    Bedroom clock is set 4 minutes fast. It does help me get going places when I need to be, but it can cause a bit of procrastination when I look at the clock and it says one thing, and then a glance at the computer screen reveals that I have a few extra minutes.

    Technology is taking away our ability to fool ourselves. Bastards. I blame Bill Gates.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * Arjewtino says:

    I’m a guy. I don’t do crazy things.

    …he says with a straight face.

    To your credit, I firmly believe the following: “Men are assholes, but women are f-ing insane.”

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * Genevieve says:

    Heh heh. This is gonna make me sound like a TOTAL nutcase but when I want to delete out someone’s number from my phone, I write it in an address book and then delete it from my phone. That way I still have it if I need it.
    Which in retrospect isn’t a good idea because I’ve gone into that book and dialed people when I shouldn’t have. >_

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  8. * Helen Skor says:

    My bedroom and car clocks are set 11 and 13 minutes fast respectively. The bathroom clock is set 17 minutes fast. I do this because the panic over seeing the time initially causes me to hurry, and by the time I’ve calculated the ACTUAL time, I’m already well on my way to where I need to be. But I’m still always late. Just ask Jo.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  9. * Politica2020 says:

    I also am an avid deleter… BUT I retain my cell phone records like a hawk so that if I change my mind I can always look them up…just in case…you never know *guilty*. Again, not much of a deterrent huh?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

