Average Jane



Trainwreck

OK, so, ya know how sometimes you see a train coming and instead of stopping at the red flashy lights on the safe side of the tracks, you kinda jump right in front of the train, and wait for it to come hit you as you stand there confused as to why the train is still careening in your direction? But then the train comes to a screeching halt, stopping 2 inches from your pretty little nose and you’re all, “Wow! That was close. I wonder why I was dumb enough to stand on the tracks…?” But then the next time you see the train coming you kinda jump just back in front of the same friggen train?

My train came over last night.  I jumped right in front of him, proverbially. There was a train wreck waiting to happen right in my living room, but as always, thank goodness, the train came to a screeching halt just before we collided.

This train has been running my tracks for 2 years now. I’ve been jumping on the tracks since the day we met. I play this cat and mouse game thinking, hoping, that one day the train won’t stop, knowing full well I’ll get hurt. But more than likely that girl standing over there around the corner, out of sight, will get hurt, too. Without even knowing it. And even with that in my head, in my heart, I know for a fact that the next time I see the train coming, I’ll jump onto the tracks again.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * carrie m says:

    and then you’ve got to deal with *this* train wreck in your apartment tonight! and she’ll be track proofing your apartment as well, or putting up safety gates or something.

    yeah, i lost the metaphor. damn.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Mandy says:

    chooo choooo.

    my friend mike says, sometimes you’d just rather hear about the train wreck than sit and watch it happen.

    I kind of hate the whole metaphor all together. But whatevs. Sometimes we gotta get hit before we get the point.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

