Average Jane



Gone camping.

Funny that my last post was about people surprising you. Well… add this one to the list:

Average Jane goes camping.

No, that’s not a typo. It probably should be, but alas…

I kind of swore (and some people can attest to this) that I would NEVER go camping. Not again. But I have some very good friends, friends that I love dearly, who are making every accommodation in the world to get me to go, and so I am off.

There will be bathrooms, water, showers (which I won’t be using. Come on. I’m not *that* bad.), and our cars about 20 ft. from the camp site. This is how mama roughs it.

Anyway, as my BFF said yesterday, “well, you are all about trying new things these days” and she’s right.

I’m pushing myself to face my fears one at a time. This whole camping thing may seem like a small step to you, but those who know me best can appreciate that hiking on my bad feet, eating food I’m not accustomed to eating, sleeping on, well, nothing… these steps are huge.

The fact of the matter is, I hate how fearful I am of things that are as inconsequential as peeing in the woods, driving to Baltimore, going skiing…

…when I am so fearless when it comes to that which scares most people in every day life.

Hey, if I succeed at this whole camping thing, Arjewtino said a bloggers’ camping trip is right around the corner.  Survivor: Battle of the Bloggers.

Anyway, wish me luck.

P.S. If I have to pee in the woods… I think I’ll just die.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Laundro says:

    I highly recommend “How To Shit in The Woods: An Environmentally Sound Approach to a Lost Art”

    http://www.amazon.com/How-Shit-Woods-Environmentally-Approach/dp/0898156270

    Have fun!

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  2. * Carrie M says:

    Just leave a trail of breadcrumbs! I think it’s great that you’re doing it, and I bet you’ll come back saying it was awesome.

    I would so lost Battle of the Bloggers. I’d go out first so I could check into the hotel.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  3. * College Grad says:

    Oooo… Survivor Battle of the Bloggers sounds great, reality television and blogging. Can’t get much more bourgeoisie than that! When I was in college my frisbee team went camping every summer for a weekend while playing a tournament. Now it looks like we’ll stay in a hotel, ridiculous.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  4. * ceecee says:

    I’m all for trying out new things. You live and learn from each and everything you do. How did camping go?

    My first time camping was horrific… It was a disaster and I told myself I wasn’t going to go camping again. My friends and I missed dinner that night, so we were starving. We only had a bottle of beer, a Capri-Sun, and a bag of gold fish crackers. That was our dinner. We had to share our sleeping bag, it was cold, we didn’t have blankets, I heard the coyotes howl, and I was scared to go pee even though the washroom was down the road…

    I’m sure your camping experience went better than mine 😉

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago
  5. * freckledk says:

    I’ll have no problem winning Survivor: Battle of the Bloggers, provided I can be drunk the entire time.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

