Average Jane



Surprise me, Baby.

Recently, I have had the pleasure of being surprised by people I know. But this week I’ve truly surprised myself.

See, I am not a “kid person“. If you’ve met me, you can attest to the fact that I just don’t have that “nesting instinct”. Just this week, the Princess, bless her heart, saw me all but backhand these two snot nosed kids whose parents were very busy completely ignoring them, and had apparently forgotten to read the “discipline” section of the “how to be a halfway decent parent” handbook.

But something happened on Wednesday morning that threw me for a loop. One of my closest friends and his wife had a baby. For months, I feared what this new addition to the family would do to our friendship: Would I see them even less than I see them now? Would they change? Would I lose my friends?

Then I got the call: The baby was born. A little girl.

A tear formed in the corner of my eye. My heart swelled with excitement and love for this new baby I had never met, never seen a picture of, never expected to care so much about. I wanted to tell the world but had no one to tell. I called my mom. She wanted to know things like “how much did she weight? was it natural birth? did mom have an episiotomy?”*

After collecting myself, I had some time to think. Why did I react so strongly? So against my normal anti-baby nature? I believe this baby represents to me love. It reminds me that at one point my parents may have loved each other as much as these new parents do. That I was a child of love. My parents wanted me and tried desperately to have me.

This little baby girl is going to be the coolest kid in the world; her parents as warm and loving as any two parents ever could be. She will be raised with music and joy and a love for life that is unmatched.

Perhaps that is what babies represent more broadly. Perhaps that is why this baby’s birth resonated so deeply with me. There is a hope, a promise of tomorrow… the possibility that this little girl will have a better time of it than I did growing up. She will do it right. She will be happy. She will make her parents proud.

I have a long way to go in enjoying the snot-nosedness of stranger-children, but for now, I am just thrilled to death to meet this new baby girl.
Welcome to the world, my dear. It’s gonna be one hell of a ride.

*(My responses: “I don’t know.” “Yup!” and “EWWWW. Grooooosss. Moooom, WTF?”)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ring Around the Snarky Jane « Average Jane pingbacked on 9 years, 5 months ago

Comments

  1. * Laundro says:

    “how much did she weight? was it natural birth? did mom have an episiotomy?”*

    8lbs 11oz. Totally natural and no drugs, just as planned. And no episiotomy. However she did tear a bit, but nothing more than average.

    Momma and Baby are doing nicely… In fact Lily is breastfeeding as I type this…

    I love this post…. my story will be on OM shortly…

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  2. * Jo says:

    Babies are weird. I’m scared sh*tless to have one someday… I’m scared sh*tless of actually being pregnant. But for some reason when I’m around babies I turn in to “Oh my gosh he/she’s sooo cute! Can I hold him/her?” Etc. And I have NO maternal instinct what so ever.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  3. * the princess says:

    Yeah, the look on your face when those kids wouldn’t leave was kind of frightening….

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  4. * matt says:

    Ugh. I turned 32 yesterday and I think I’m old enough to date (single) mothers.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Belle says:

    “Perhaps that is what babies represent more broadly. Perhaps that is why this baby’s birth resonated so deeply with me. There is a hope, a promise of tomorrow… the possibility that this little girl will have a better time of it than I did growing up. She will do it right. She will be happy. She will make her parents proud.”

    Exactly. Great post. And congrats to the new parents!

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  6. * carrie m says:

    wonderful post. I can’t believe you have a baby, Laundro. And that’s not a knock on *you*, that’s me realizing that we’re old enough to be real grownups with real dependents who aren’t our pets.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 2 months ago
  7. * alkg says:

    Excellent web site I will be visiting often.

    | Reply Posted 10 years ago


Leave a Reply

