Average Jane



A little bit Pretty Woman with less prostitution

Have you ever had a “movie moment”? When something happens so incredible that it could only have been scripted that way? Or that you swear you’ve seen before? Or that you kind of sort of wish were happening in a movie only so that you could rest assured there was NO WAY POSSIBLE it was happening to you?

I have had my share of these moments. Mostly, however, my moments have come out of Farrelly Brothers movies, like the time I walked straight into a fountain (yeah, you read that right) in front of an entire 150 strong contingency of college students in Jerusalem. Or, the time I stepped on the hem of my dress walking into prom and ripped the entire bottom 2 inches of my skirt off. OR the time I said to my first boyfriend that I refused to be in a “self defecating” relationship.

There have also been sappy teen drama moments, like when I stood up at youth group senior circle and told all 200 attendees that they would one day regret not getting to know me… for judging me… for treating me like an outcast, because I really was a good person. Not that it helped. But I still win.

But this last weekend… I had a movie moment straight out of Pretty Woman (minus the prostitution, thank you very much INPYArjewtino… Miss Carrie M. I know how you think).

Let me back up: As you may remember, the Fourth of July brought the introduction of a “kind of” prospect. I also promised you the story of why he was only a “kind of” prospect. Well, since then, he found my blog (HI THERE!) and so I will therefore forego the story, because really, it doesn’t matter. The fact of the matter is he’s more than a “kind of” prospect now. What he is… well, we’re working on it.

On the Fourth, he mentioned that he and his friends were going to the vineyards in Virginia that Sunday, and said I should come along. Alas, I was headed to the wedding and was unable to go.

But on our first date, one that I was (to that point) sure would lead to no second date, he told me that he had every intention of taking me to the vineyard as soon as my schedule allowed it. That happened to be last Saturday.

I was petrified, scared to enter a world I didn’t know, and one in which I was quite sure I wouldn’t fit in. But the day came and there we were, off to Leesburg to not one, but two wine tastings, and then whatever the day may bring… wherever the roads took us.

It couldn’t have been a more beautiful day. And I was a Princess. I drove his beautiful car around the hills of Virginia Wine Country… manual transmission, my first time. Regardless of how I actually fared as a stick driver, he was proud of me. Really, truly proud. I had stepped out onto a very short limb, and he was there to catch me if I fell. Except, if I fell, I would have taken his very expensive, pretty car with me.

We went to two wine tastings, bought a few bottles of wine, and ate cheese and bread on the veranda of a winery while sipping a glass of our favorite white.

The day was magical, but all I kept thinking was, “When are they going to find out that I’m not one of them?” I’m a simple girl, brought up on syrupy sweet Manischewitz wine in the heart of suburbia. Heck, I had to stop at Target on the way to the vineyard to purchase a more appropriate dress for the occasion. But thank goodness I did. It was gorgeous, and comfortable, and I felt like I looked like I truly fit in.

He has made me realize a lot in the 2 weeks since we “met”. One of the big ones is this: I have all these things I want to do… even a list of that I consider my “list of dreams”, but they have sat on that list for years untouched. Finally, one has been crossed off. I can now drive stick. And, thanks to him, my list is growing.

The last two weeks have been a fairytale, scenes straight out of a movie, and sometimes I have to pinch myself to remember that it’s happening to me, that they are real. But ya know what’s the best part about movies? That while you’re in the theater, for as long as the movie lasts, it’s real.

Call it a willing suspension of disbelief. Call it the only way we can get through the day sometimes, but at some point I tripped and fell into a movie. It’s of course going to be a romantic comedy and I’ll end up with a pie on my face at some point, but for now, I guess it’s a matter of sitting back, relaxing, and enjoying one hell of a good guy, and one hell of a good time.

Do you have movie moments?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jo says:

    Oh good for you! Sounds like a good time!

    My movie moments are always slapstick. Or saying stupid things. My friends used to call me Jessica (as in Jessica Simpson).

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  2. Awww! Little sister I’m so happy for you.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Mandy says:

    Yay! I can’t wait to hear all about it when you’re back from Dallas. YAY YAY YAY.

    Seems our ice cream was good luck 😉

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  4. * matt says:

    jane,

    one of the more entertaining blogs here.

    My movie moment comes via the screwball comedy genre, when I was arrested by the Vermont State Police for “reckless driving.” As I sat handcuffed behind my back, I watched the cop search my backseat and I watched my car roll backward into the cruiser.

    Damn e-brake. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  5. * carrie m says:

    all my movie moments are straight outta lifetime/afterschool specials – the poster girl for caution. 😉

    love you. and what, you can blog but you can’t call a sista back?! can’t wait to see you properly soon. are you home this weekend? come to the pool with me one day…

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  6. * roissy says:

    my last trip to the vineyards i got chased off by pitchfork-wielding blue bloods.
    go figure.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago
  7. * freckledk says:

    Remember that one brutal scene between Minnie Driver and Matt Damon in Good Will Hunting….except that, in this case, Matty is not a genius – just a narcissist.

    Happy for you, AJ! You deserve the fairy tale.

    | Reply Posted 10 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

