Average Jane



So dry your eyes…

Don’t cry, you know the tears will do no good
So dry your eyes
They told you life is hard
Misery from the start, it’s dull
It’s slow, it’s painful
But I tell you life is sweet
In spite of the misery
There’s so much more, be grateful.

    -Natalie Merchant, Life is Sweet

But tonight I cried. Listening to these words, I cried.

Life is sweet. Sometimes it’s just hard to taste the sweetness through the bitter, salty tears.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. for some reasons, at a time where I was really down this song was a real punch in the crotch, the kind that wakes you up, and makes you wanna conquer the world…

    don’t let yourself go, hang on… …and then I wanted to add something like, awake the warrior, punch a wall and look pissed, but I’m not quite sure women empathize witht this kind of reaction… hang on anyway.

    …”punch in the crotch” ?! What the hell Oo…

    Ben Folds does have a certain way of getting you off your ass and facing the world. For me, though, my “pick me up” song goes to Cyndi Lauper’s True Colors

    You with the sad eyes
    Don’t be discouraged
    Oh I realize
    It’s hard to take courage
    In a world full of people
    You can lose sight of it all
    And the darkness inside you
    Can make you feel so small

    But I see your true colors
    Shining through
    I see your true colors
    And that’s why I love you
    So don’t be afraid to let them show
    Your true colors
    True colors are beautiful,
    Like a rainbow

    Show me a smile then,
    Don’t be unhappy, can’t remember
    When I last saw you laughing
    If this world makes you crazy
    And you’ve taken all you can bear
    You can call me up
    Because you know I’ll be there

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Helga says:

    Wonderful pages! Keep up the grat work.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

