Average Jane



Tonights secret

In what may turn out to be a series, I would like to share with you one secret from PostSecret’s latest book “A Lifetime of Secrets.”

Tonight I sat in Barnes and Noble with the latest book from PostSecret open across my lap. I sat on the floor in the back corner. I was tucked away… in public… reading the most intimate secrets from complete strangers.

That is, after all, the point of the book:

To identify. To accept. To let go.

And tonight, my goal is to share. To enlighten. To apologize.

“I’m starting to realize that my indecisiveness is a far worse fate than making the wrong decision.”

For those of you who I have hurt by my paralizing indecisiveness, I am sorry.

For those of you have watched me break down when faced with a “simple” decision, I am sorry.

For those of you who are fed up with me… who want me to “get over it”… I am trying.

And for those of you who have stuck with me through my debilitating anxiety, who recognize I mean no harm, who love and accept me for me… Thank you. Those words are so humble it hurts to know there aren’t any better. You know who you are. And if you don’t then it’s probably you, too.

There are no right decisions, and no matter how much I waiver, I will never come to the best conclusion. I can only try to be true to myself and that isn’t natural at all. Not for me.

So stick with me, friends. I promise, I’ll always stick by you through your secrets, too.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * jess says:

    I wonder if your most accepting friends see the best in you not only because of the good people they are but also because we all share, in differing ways, the very same traits you delineate here? I think compassion, at its best, arises from the humble realization that we we’re all more similar than we think and none of us are as alone in our confusion as we’d expect. But I don’t know 🙂

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  2. * carrie m says:

    you are wonderful and fabulous in every way. for serious.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago
  3. yay! Same! Me thinks :$

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

