Average Jane



Amen, I’m alive.

Oh to start the day quoting Nickelback

I have had some of the best and worst times in the last week or so. I cried a lot. I laughed even more. I talked to old friends and I met some new friends. My friends have stumbled and looked to me for help. I have stumbled to them and asked the same. I have struggled to pick one particular instance to share with you all and ultimately decided that words just failed me.

One fun thing I’m doing these days is sporting an “I’m blogging this.” t-shirt, courtesy of The Cultural Commentator. It’s a really super fun project, seeing how people react and what they say. I only wear it to the gym at this point, but come summer it will become a staple. I wanted to know if people would act differently around me, say anything to me… The reaction has been mixed. I would say by far the most obnoxious was the front-desk-guy… the one who called me ma’am.

Him – “Do you blog?”

Me- “Yeah. But it’s anonymous.”

Him- “Are you gonna blog about me?”

Me- “You may make it into my blog.”

Him- “Are you gonna blog about me asking you if you blog?”

Me – “No.”

Him- “Are you gonna blog about not blogging about me?”

Me- “No.”

Him- “Are you gonn…”

Me- “Shut up.”

Seriously. It was that bad. Needless to say I blatantly lied. Whatever. He’s a douche.

Then there was the “headshaker”. He looked at my shirt, did one of those finger waves as though he was reading my shirt, and then did the “oh no you di’int” headshake. I nodded. He shook. I nodded. He shook. Priceless.

I think blogger culture is hilarious, and therefore I bask in every moment of the hilarity.

You’re all bloggers — or FOBs — Would you ever sport a shirt like that? 

On another note, I think I found my 100% favoritest thing to do on a Saturday night… puzzles! E & A are two of my best firends in the world. They are “new” friends, as in a separate subset of friends from my “old” friends like The Cultural Commentator. The time I spend with them is treasured, and not because we go out and track around the town, hitting all the hot spots and getting wasted on martinis… It’s because on Saturday night, after puttering around town for a bit, we made the most delicious dinner, baked ridiculous cookies, listened to music, and did puzzles. And it was the best night I can remember. It helped that duck_typer is a L337 puzzle do-er. We listened to the Decemberists all night, danced around like idiots, and I got to watch SpaceGhost for the first time. Ok, seriously, funniest show ever.

There is something so precious about spending time with ridiculously rad people doing completely mundane things and feeling warm and fuzzy inside. Although that might have been a contact high.

Monday was tough. It was exhausting. It was uncomfortable, but I was able to take comfort in a new friend. A friend aBove. A friend too far away. More on him later.

But for now… Sorry for the completely random post. At least I’m writing again.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sam says:

    Space ghost is good, but if you haven’t experienced the Venture Brothers…

    …actually that may be a guy thing.

    (and I would definitely wear the shirt just to see the look on my employers’ face)

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Arjewtino says:

    I think I would wear that t-shirt, unfortunately, until The Princess told me to take it off, which would be about three seconds into me wearing it.

    You have been out of the house wearing far worse than that. I assure you.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  3. * jess says:

    if the t-shirt had an arrow pointing to you i could wear it… right?

    i hope the week gets better than monday was! next time you’re in whole foods, let’s remember to have a special moment by the cheese samples….

    We’ll always have cheese… Oh, BTW. Did you happen to notice the disproportionate number of hot men who work at Whole Foods? I’ll have a “special moment in the cheese” with any one of em…

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  4. * redshrt04 says:

    I’d wear the shirt– I wonder what my co-workers would say… they have no clue about my blog, so it may end up being a little awkward.

    Awkward is coming to work without pants on. A T-shirt is merely a conversation starter.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Bove says:

    I second Venture Brothers.
    I’d wear the shirt, but when it comes to ThinkGeek t-shirts, I’d rather sport their “Your Ringtone Sucks” model.

    ThinkGeek.com could be the best website EVER!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  6. * ~Justin says:

    Someone once gave me a “business” card that simply had two poorly-drawn sock puppets on the front. One said, “I’m a blogger.” In response, the other said, “Yeah, but you’re still an asshole.”

    Hilarity.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  7. * Alex says:

    I blog, but I doubt I’d wear the shirt. I like writing and I like getting feedback on what I write but I don’t like to advertise that I write. Even in an attributable form, the Internet feels more anonymous than the shirt I’m wearing. Illogical, but that’s me.

    Welcome back, though.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  8. * Todd says:

    Dammit, why can’t I convince anyone that the Decemberists actually suck and aren’t, in any way, actually music. I hate it that they have infected all my friends.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 8 months ago
  9. * Robin says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling alive, hmmm, so what’s up with your friend aBove?

    I think it’s cool that you helped out, and yes, more should have visitors. Maybe they’d let you come back sometime, too. Cuz, really, it’s good to feel alive. 🙂

    Oh, but I only tell so many people that I blog. I like to be able to talk about some people w/out them knowing, or finding it. Plus, some guys get weirded out, like I’d go discuss their inner secrets and ED or something online, publically. Tempting, but I’m nice.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

