Average Jane



Best. Weekend. Ever.

This weekend didn’t stop — not once — from Friday night straight through Sunday night. My friends rallied around me as I put on a dinner party, ran a voter registration drive, and lived to tell about it. And since you’re the people I tell my stuff to, here you go.

I learned a lot this weekend, about various things… and here are the highlights:

  1. I happen to be a bang-up cook
  2. Puzzles are the best entertainment ever and can be done 3 ways — right side up, upside down, and then with something drawn on the back
  3. Worrying about things is counterproductive. And I really need to fix that.
  4. Comcast On-Demand karaoke is the second best entertainment ever.
  5. Keeping chicken warm after cooking it only makes it dry out (if you have any idea on how to prevent this, I’d appreciate the tips!)
  6. If you are allergic to something, and you hold it out in your hand, you do not lose the ability to resist someone pushing down on your arm because your body is rejecting it. Umm… ask me if you need any further explanation.
  7. People who wear Uggs are the thing I’d like to throw repeatedly against a brick wall. I change my answer.
  8. Being a do-gooder is worth the exhaustion.
  9. One of my friend friends duct tapes her feet to get rid of warts. And that it might actually work.
  10. Letting people from the past back into my life is not as scary as I’ve convinced myself it is. Not only that… it can be kind of amazing.

I stressed for 2 weeks straight, I got very little sleep, I thought I would be a failure… but this weekend was incredible. No, it was magical.

Thanks to everyone who made it what it was. And thanks to everyone who took me by the shoulders, shook me a little, and told me to just fucking relax.

Because in the end, that’s sometimes what I need most.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * sooz says:

    re: keeping chicken moist while keeping it warm, pour some chicken stock over it before you put it in the oven. Should do the trick.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Arjewtino says:

    Add OJ to the chicken. Let it soak and then put it back in the oven to reheat.

    My mom taught me that.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  3. * Sam says:

    Oj, huh, that’s an interesting trick.

    There are multiple tricks, including the chicken stock trick, the apparent oj trick, and my mother’s technique: just fry the damn thing (that’s what Southern roots will get you). I also know one guy with VERY Southern roots who told me over Thanksgiving that he runs strips of bacon through melted butter and then wraps the bacon strips around the turkey to keep it from drying out in the oven. Somehow he’s only about 135 lbs, but your mileage may vary.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago
  4. * bigspoon says:

    OK…you’ll kill me, but I hafta admit….I sorta ❤ these.

    http://www.uggaustralia.com/ProductDetails.aspx?gID=w&categoryID=283&productID=5453&model=Stella

    But yes…Uggs = Ugh!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

