Average Jane



Platooic Relationships

I am officially running all my relationship questions by my cell phone from now on.

Friday night I had planned to meet up with some of my best friends for dinner. They were coming ALL THE WAY TO THE SUBURBS to play with little ole me. Around 5:00 I went to text my friend to tell her to tell her fiance to invite his friend/ my-most-recent-past-romantic-interest-who-is-clearly-not-interested-and-who-I-am-therefore-attempting-to-get-over-as-quickly- as-possible.

The text started thusly- “Hey! Why don’t you invite Fiance’s-Friend-Guy for a completely platooic…”

back back back back

“platoo”

back back back

My cell phone’s T9 (predictive text) had just informed me that “platonic” was NOT in its dictionary.

I checked again and again – yup. That’s how you *would* spell platonic.

“Add to dictionary” it asked?

Um – no. No. Not at all.

The rest of the text would have read “… for a completely platonic night of food and fun.” But I firmly believe that “Platonic” is not in my T9 for good reason. Most likely because it is a pretend word — made up — unreal. Non real? You get the point.

Needless to say, I took that as a sign. As many have claimed before me. there really isn’t such a thing as a platonic relationship between single opposite sexed adults. I mean, even my man-friends that I do have I judge in a sexual way: “He’s alright. Maybe if we’re both single when we’re 40…” Or: “Oh, he’s so hot. If I was drunk enough? Sure. I’d do him.” Those things are just not something one woman would say about her girl-friends. (You have no proof of anything.)

So, what did I do? I deleted the message. I let it be. It was for the best. My feelings for this person, who I had genuinely begun falling for, have not dissipated enough to really be able to enjoy myself around him. Not without constantly twitching, sticking my foot in my mouth, giggling awkwardly… doing all those girly things that I swore I would never do. Ever.

I have to grow up. I have to realize that it’s not worth scrapping for whatever I can get from someone who’s just not that into me. I should get what I deserve. And I deserve someone who *is* that into me. And not just “platooically”.

Our friendship, mine and the co-worker-guy, will grow. Naturally. Organically. But thanks to my cell phone I had a perfect evening with old friends – the 5th wheel of a car that seems to roll just as well with the extra support.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Signs (Or… a firm request for sanitary reasons) « Average Jane pingbacked on 9 years, 4 months ago

Comments

  1. * Sam says:

    …so who’s the one you’d do if you were drunk enough? 😉

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

