Average Jane



Good spirits. Poor nurses.

Everyone keeps saying he’s “in good spirits”. He’s “fine”, whatever that means. The surgery went “well”.

All these words that used to mean so much just seem to be words now.

I talked to him. Hi, darlin.

“Spanky!” He sounded rough. And drugged. But definitely himself.

I didn’t waste time. I had heard from B that he wore out quickly on the phone.

I told him I almost came right away. He said I should have. I told him I’d come as soon as possible. He told me I better. I asked him if he’s hitting on all the nurses. He said only most.

That was actually one of the questions flying around our friends. “So, do you think he’s hitting on the nurses yet?” The answer only 2 days after the accident was a resounding “yes!”. I pity those nurses. He puts on a good game. And in a few days when he’s back on his feet (prognosis is good, apparently), they are really in trouble.

I booked my flight as soon as I hung up with his sister. A quick trip this time. I’ll go back if I need to.

Thank you all for your well wishes. He’s gonna be “fine”.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I’d like you to meet TED « Average Jane pingbacked on 9 years, 2 months ago

Comments

  1. * Carrie M says:

    he *will* be fine. and so will you, even if you’re not there righthismoment. it’s okay, seriously. hugs.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * ivan says:

    Wow does he have super powers or something, how did he manage to start hitting on his nurses yet? A guy that prone (that prone? can I say that?) to get back to his normal business is not a worried one, and if he’s not worried, then you should not either, pure logic, does that work for you?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

