Average Jane



Suburban Batcall

One of the biggest criticism my Most Recent Ex had of me (he’s doing really well, by the way, and I go up to see him on Friday!) was that I wasn’t fun. Now, had he been more balanced in his assessment of my funness (“balanced” isn’t something he’s real big on), he’d have maybe said I’m “differently fun-ed”. Special in my fun-ness? Or maybe he’d say that I’m not a risk taker. But he wouldn’t say I wasn’t fun. Because I totally am.

Last night, for instance, I had a really fun night. After work and the gym, I headed home for a random-as-always dinner of leftovers. I flipped on the TV and sat disgusted by my 413 options. So, I flipped open le-laptop and started cruising my buddy list. I spotted an away message that was peculiar – co worker who usually goes offline after work had put up an “I’m bored” status message. I knew what I had to do.

The “status message” is the suburban batcall. It’s the “cry for help” of our generation. I figured it may have been left up from work, but I gave it a shot anyway. “Are you really bored?”

“Someone to talk to!!!” Yes!

She was bored. She had reached the end of the internet. It was 9:00 on a Monday night. Do you know what that means??? DUNKIN F-ING DONARS! Luckily, the local Dunkins is also a Baskin Robbins, and my weakness (for real) is ice cream. Again the Ex would say, I don’t really get ice cream. I get whatever low-carb, low-sugar, low-cal crap they have on hand. But who cares! We made plans to meet in 20 minutes looking as inscrubnito as desired. Before I left, I threw the remnants of a botttle of white wine into a coffee-sippee-cup-travel-mug and hit the road. See? I can be a rules breaker! (And yes, I worried about almost the entire time.)

We sat and ate ice cream and laughed and talked about work stuffs. We drank wine from a pastic sippee cup and flirted with the ugly guys that sat down next to us. Ok – that was just me. It was a harmless, but totally awesome, night out in suburbia. Ya know, while I might not be spontaneous all the time, sometimes I am “up for it.” If you catch me without time to think about it too much, I’m as spontaneous as anyone.

I am super fun.

I guess the moral of the story is, I find fun in the little things. I don’t need elaborate plans or grand gestures. I don’t need long trips and expensive toys. I need a few bucks, a baskin robbins, and a sippee cup and I’m set. It helps that I know some of the best, funnest people around.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * carrie m says:

    that’s right, you are fun. so don’t let ANYone, even if they’ve had a recent brush with death, tell you otherwise. or at least don’t believe it.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Shannon says:

    Actually, that sounds like a great night!

    I remember one of the most fun times I ever had was bunking work to go to a local waterpark with a friend. It was better than some of the really cool stuff I’d done (go down the Amazon in a motorboat, get attacked by monkeys, etc) simply because the timing and the company were so right. Fun is all about attitude.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  3. * freckledk says:

    I’m amazed that someone thought you weren’t fun. Were you dating Robin Williams?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  4. * ivan says:

    ๐Ÿ˜ฎ You -so- pinned it , suburban batcall!! This is at the very least the analogy of the day, congratulation n_n Can I use it and pretend I’m smart/awesome/inventive, or is there some kind of coypright that might get me sent to jail, or kneecapped by some badly shaven goons of yours?

    Oh, and as far as I can tell, you’re internet-fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Mrs. Emily says:

    You are mad fun. Mad fun. Like Ned’s Atomic Dustbin.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Penny says:

    Not only are you fun, bring “grape juice only better” with you, but you pay for ice cream, too!! That’s a recipe for success right there.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

