Average Jane



The Comfort of a Stranger

About 3 yeas ago I went on a diet. It worked. It was a long, slow, arduous process that ended up with me weighing less. That’s really all it did. Made me smaller. It also fucked me up in the head in too many way to describe here now. But I gave up a lot. I gave up my best friend: food.

And now, now that everything is confusing and intense and stressful — now that I need a best friend around me at all times to comfort me and take my mind off of everything I can’t control, I went right back to my friend.

I’m slipping. And I’m eating. I’m eating a lot and I’m eating wrong and I’m not exercising. I’m eating because I’m stressed. I’m eating because I’m scared.

I just needed to share.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Lemmonex says:

    Food is my closest confidant, my most mortal enemy and my most brutal tormentor. I know all too well…Hang on tight. It will get better, even if it means you gain a few pounds. It will come off.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  2. * ivan says:

    give yourself a break, from the pics I’ve seen, you’re gorgeous and definitly can afford to gain a few pounds if you feel like eating. And I know it’s man talk, and that it -is- an issue for most women, but objectively, it’s not gonna kill anybody, nor make your life miserable. Now it doesn’t mean you don’t have to worry about anything, just don’t focus on the food part of the problem, it’s a syndrom, not the issue itself. Try sorting out the confusing stuff in your life rather than giving yourself one more thing to stress about (food, wasn’t sure it was clear). And I know you knew that already, but sometimes I like having someone rubbing directions in my face, so I thought…err…

    It’s battle time, put on some hans zimmer and start headbutting whatever makes you anxious these days, and go check out pics of monica bellucci, or salma hayek, and wonder if those hypothetical few more pounds are so un-hot.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Mrs. Emily says:

    Eating is a good thing. Don’t ever forget that.

    Repeat after me, “EATING IS A GOOD THING”

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Beach Bum says:

    I am the same way, when I’m too stressed, I eat more junk, and the more I do, the less I care about it. Also when I don’t exercise, the more I eat. Argh.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

