Average Jane



Best. Day. Ever.

Hello. Today sucked.

12:27-6:29am- Worst night of sleep, replete with 3 bathroom breaks.

6:30am- Pop out of bed and make breakfast

6:57am- Introduce my hand to the blade of the really sharp knife I’m using to cut my apple for lunch. Bleed profusely.

7:03am- Arrive at Emergency Room.

7:30am – Get text message that office is closed due to water main break. Will have to work from home.

7:45am – Get 4 stitches in the web of my left hand, right between my thumb and index finger. Lesson: Don’t cut an apple into your hand. Your mom was right.

8:20am – Get tetanus shot.

8:35am – Arrive home. Do some work.

10:00am – Go to Safeway to get ibuprofen, and Starbucks to get caffeine.

10:30am – Arrive home again to find that cable and internet are out.

10:45am – Go back to Starbucks to attempt to log onto “free” internet with registered Starbucks card. Am thwarted when I am told to check my e-mail for a verification number. Which I can’t do because… it won’t fucking let me connect.

11:15am – Go to Panera to connect using their free internet. Which is actually just… free.

11:45am- Leave Panera because there’s a lunch rush and I can’t concentrate (and am not eating)

12:00pm – Come back home to see if internet is back up. It is not. Turn around and go back to Panera to download files and work offline from home.

12:15pm – Sit outside at Panera (no seats inside) until it starts raining… on my computer.

12:30pm – Back home to eat lunch and call Comcast.

12:45pm – Finally talk to Comcast “technician” who asks me if my cables are all securely connected. I say, “Yes. It’s not a hardware issue. My cable is out, too.” After researching the situation she informs me, “It appears that there’s an outage.” My reply, “Not to be smart, but I know.”

3:00pm – Internets finally back.  Shockingly productive few hours. So that’s what it was like before people could IM all day…

*sigh*

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. just imagine this day could have happened in darfur. Feel better now?n_n

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  2. * CC says:

    If this had happened in Darfur…I think she’d still be waiting for the Internets to come back on.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  3. * Eric says:

    I can’t even remember what I did this morning. Damn.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  4. * Ashley says:

    It sounds like quite a bad day, huh…

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

