Average Jane



Ewwwww…. MOM!!!!

It hadn’t happened since I was 10. I swear. At least that I can remember. But then again if it had happened since then I am quite sure it has since been repressed.

This morning, mom surprised me with a stop at Starbucks on the way to work. It was my first day driving post-surgery, but she needed the car. It was a lovely gesture. With some time to burn before carting me off to work, we sat at a table outside to discuss the day. Then it happened. Well… then it started.

“Jane… Your face is dirty. You’ve got a… ” And then before I could stop her she licked her finger and rubbed the smudge off my forehead. In public. For real.

Now, while I had every right to be mortified, I just couldn’t stop laughing. I let out my best pre-adolescent, “Mooooooooooommm…. What are you doing?!” And then had a good hardy chuckle. “What?” she asked. “Did you really want to go to work with a big black mark on your head?!” While I could think of about 75 other ways to have ameliorated the black-smudged-forehead situation… bless her heart, she tried.

It’s so cute to see her being a mom. She loves it. And really, sometimes I have to learn to not be so serious and laugh at the little things.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. aaaaaaghhhhhhhh!!!!!

    NNNNNNOOOOOO!!!

    Oh… Yes. So very yes.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Penny says:

    At least she didn’t try to hug you after she handed you your lunch box as you stood out in front of the office building. Phew!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Lemmonex says:

    I am trying to do the same thing…just roll with it. I feel I sometimes regress to being 13 when I interact with my mom.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  4. * Mr. Emily says:

    I totally caught myself doing that to Lily.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

