Average Jane



One more brief political interlude: Anti-Choice?

I am a little nervous about this post. It’s more … controversial than I typically choose to be here at Average Jane. But I cannot get something out of my head and I just need you to know how I feel.

The last few days, since talk to Governor Palin’s daughter’s pregnancy has come into the spotlight of the “mainstream media” (kick me and gag me), the issues of abortion have become yet again a cattle call for the right. We, the lefties, are not supposed to discuss the “rightness” or “wrongness” of the Governor’s daughter’s pregnancy and really, who cares? Millions of teens have or have had children far too young. Whatever.

What gets me is the conservatives are perfectly willing to flaunt her pregnancy as virtuous since she is keeping the baby and not as ALL UNWED MOTHERS CLEARLY DO abort it. So, she is pro-life. YAY! Sound the alarms. She’s keeping her baby. She has made a CHOICE to keep her baby. Let us move on, k?

Yes, let’s move on to Governor Palin’s darling little baby boy. He is the light of her life. You can see it in her eyes. She loves that little baby with all her heart. AND, what’s even better is that she CHOSE to keep her baby too! Even though it’s disabled! HEAVEN FOR FUCKING BID! How PRO LIFE of her. She kept the baby that she conceived out of love and who will bring her joy for years and years. She kept a baby even though it was going to be a difficult child to raise and even though she had the choice to abort it.

I don’t quite understand how the pro-choice issue became anti-life. We don’t go around killing babies. We don’t put guns to the heads of unwed mothers forcing them to kill the babies that may eventually grow up to be, I don’t know, Senators and Presidents, Musicans and Athletes, Teachers and Scholars. We don’t kill babies who are disabled just because we know they will be disabled. We don’t walk around preaching death. We go around preaching CHOICE.

These two women who have or will accomplish great things in their lives made a choice. The Obama campaign has rightly made a mandate that any staffer that makes the Governor’s daughter’s pregnancy and issue will be fired. And good for him for doing it. But how dare the Right Wing then go forth and use the same pregnancy as a platform to preach the brave pro-life position that they so staunchly stand for.

If a woman decides to abort a child with Down Syndrome, that is her choice. If she chooses to abort a baby that she had by accident out of wedlock when she cannot support that child, that is her choice. If those women decide to keep those children, the Right Wing has to understand that that, too, is a choice, and one that should be protected.

Make no mistake: I am not a pro-choice crusader. I am not a cheerleader for abortion. I am a supporter of education and protected sex. I am a supporter of whatever will prevent the need to have a woman to go to that means. But we don’t have that in place yet and I don’t know when we will.

I am sorry to be soap boxing it this morning. I’m going to frollic off to work now and enjoy the rest of me day.

Back on the soapbox for a moment: My friend Jodrell just sent me a fascinating article from Andrew Sullivan called, “Pro-Lifers And Amniocentesis: Some Questions”. The question raised is… Why did she get an amnio if she didn’t consider aborting the baby? Honestly I don’t know, because I’ve never had a baby, or been pregnant. Can anyone fill me (or Mr. Sullivan) in? This Pallin lady, man. Something is all sorts of not right with that one.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hannah says:

    Your post is fabulous. I love it, and I think it’s hugely important for people to remember that we are talking about letting women make the best choice for themselves and their families, nothing more. So thank you.

    One small quibble: you are a pro-choice crusader. But none of us, not even those of us who work in the field (ahem) are pro-abortion. All of us want to reduce the rate of unintended pregnancy and therefore, reduce the rate of abortion. The ridiculous stigma of a left full of crazy braless women running around performing abortions on unsuspecting pregnant women is dangerous (and very politically effective). Maybe someday we will all be able to get together under the heading of pro-prevention.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Lemmonex says:

    I don’t think anyone who is pro-choice is a cheerleader for abortion.

    This is a great post.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Emily says:

    Very well put.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Jeremy says:

    Taking the minority view here, I have to say that I am a bit pro-abortion. I know that’s not socially acceptable, and rest assured neither am I, but I think more people should have abortions. It’s not just because I hate babies, and people in general, and think they should stop procreating even though it would mean no social security for me when I’m old and shriveled like John McCain. It’s not just that our global infrastructure and natural resource pool isn’t sufficient to support all of the ugly pants-pooping little freaks that are so hastily being squeezed out into this world. Mainly it’s because when I go out in public places there are hordes of inconsiderate baby-toting dumbasses, blissfully unaware that their screaming children are orders of magnitude more annoying than a pterodactyl with hemorrhoids.

    Don’t get me wrong, I’m not for compulsory abortions (except for any potential future TomKat babies and the entire Bush family), but abortions should be safe, legal, and free, and you should get a balloon and a complimentary iPod when you’re finished.

    And before you label me a baby-killer, let me just point out that I also support vasectomies, morning after pills, and contraceptives of all flavors which should ideally come in vending machines installed liberally throughout schools, churches, government buildings, and anywhere Ann Coulter is likely to be.

    OK I’m off now to look for those “crazy braless women running around performing abortions on unsuspecting pregnant women” that Hannah mentioned. Must find them …

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  5. * Ibid says:

    A few years back I ran into some high school students that were getting extra credit from their Catholic high school for attending an anti-choice protest outside of the 16th st Planned Parenthood. I let them talk about the issue for a minute and then simply suggested that they support causes that make abortion unnecessary instead of illegal. I could smell the ozone from neurons burning out with this completely new concept.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  6. * instatick says:

    This post is wonderful and very well put.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

