Average Jane



200! (and 1)

Without much pomp or circumstance, my 200th post came and went. And it was about Flip Cup. *sigh* I guess it’s apropos to my blog, though. The “average” part of Average Jane implies, perhaps, less that I am average, but more that this isn’t an “important” blog. I am not here to make a point. The goal was always just to have a forum to be myself on an interweb full of strangers. Lucky for me, I met some of these strangers and they were pretty rad. They gave me something invaluable: faith in my writing and access to some of the best writers in DC, if not all the tubes ever.

So when I saw that it was my 200th post, I started looking back through the annals and found some winners… but on this righteous occasion, I wanted to share with you sick fucks one of the most searched/most viewed blog post I’ve written so far.

With such search terms as: jdate chloroform, how would you knock me out, chloroform fantasies, jdate horror stories… “How would you know me out? Another Jdate story” has turned into bit of a cult classic, I guess.

People? Really? Can you stop now? It’s creeping me out.

A year ago, it was Balls to the Wall September: my quest to stop being single. Well, I’m on a perpetual quest to stop being single  — but in particular, I was going to stop getting in my own way. Really put myself out there. Unfortunately that was a cosmic fail. It was suggested that I go Balls to the Wall again this September, but if I’m honest, my poor little ego can’t really handle that again.

Two years ago, it appears I was pretty fucking doom and gloom.  Sorry bout that.

I can’t say I’ve had, like, a favorite post, per se. It’s really just been great to write! And get feedback from, like I said, some of the smartest, nicest, loveliest strangers ever.

So tell me, have you had a favorite post? Do you think I should just got shove it? Are you looking for ways to use chloroform?

With 1,154 comments, you guys are really what make this whole thing worthwhile. So thanks, commenters. You rock.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Eva says:

    I have to say, I am a big fan of the Petabitaphyle post! 😉 But I could be biased cause I was there.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Ivan says:

    I have plenty of favorite posts to read on here. And I’m also grateful for this blog to remind me how cool writing can be, and how much I should try again. ‘hasn’t worked in a while but at least it stays somewhere not too much in the back of my mind.
    Keep AJing.:)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Maxie says:

    That JDate post was definitely the one that made me laugh the hardest. I still can’t believe it really happened to you.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago
  4. * ColoradoDanO says:

    Can’t say I have a favorite post… I love your writing!! Keep it up 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

