Average Jane



Mediums

This is not a love poem but a thank you note written from the heart

It’s an opportunity to put pen to paper and spill words across lines that were there once but are now gone.

For years, my thoughts have been caged behind firewalls of prose and it wasn’t until I met you that I was inspired to break out from behind the safety of tags and links and pingback to the medium I love and missed too much.

The cramp in my hand is the pain of the rush of emotions flowing from my head faster than my poor pen can carry them.

On paper there is no escape… key.

In love there is no escape.

Although, if you knew me you’d know that love is as abstract as the piss poor metaphors you’ll find here.

It is a nice and easy way to package that feeling I get when I see you.

When you look at me.

When you talk to me.

But it’s just a word.

If only there was a word for the essence of love but precluding the act of love.

Because acting on love is like setting your most sacred secret in stone.

Once it’s out there, the permanence is petrifying.

The sitting.

The waiting.

The power is in the “other”.

The control is out of your hands.

If only life had rewind.

Delete.

But it doesn’t. No.

It has what this paper has, words in ink, crossed out. Over written but never gone.

Always there as proof of a mistake I made by sharing a part of me that maybe you don’t deserve.

Maybe that’s why I stopped writing in the first place, because event if it needed to be said, my fear of you knowing was always greater.

So while you inspire me. Move me. Have lured me…

You’ll never know.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hammer says:

    Amazing how profoundly pen & paper change the process, ain’t it? Nicely done.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * Emily says:

    Wow. Very well-written. I can totally identify.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

