Average Jane



Sinner: A Book Review of a Book I Never Read

I am station flipper. Cut throat with the radio dial, I rarely stop on a station long enough to hear a full song let alone a moment of commercial time. If ever I am too slow, missing my cue to change stations, it typically takes me no more than a few precious seconds to ameliorate the situation… I know. As a professional marketer I should really care more, but as a consumer I can safely say that commercials fucking suck.

Tonight on my way home from the gym, I was window gazing at a red light, distracted by some shiny object in the distance, when I realized that a commercial was on the radio. What caught my attention was something to this effect: “Who could imagine a day when proclaiming your love for Christ would be punishable by law”. Unfortunately, I can’t remember it verbatim and I can’t find the radio spot online… but it was enough to draw me in. My flip-inclination was immediately overwhelmed by my morbid curiosity.

It was a spot for a book, “Sinner” by Ted Dekker. A book about the freedom of speech, religion. I listened intently as they described the concept of this political thriller. “We shouldn’t have to give up our freedom of speech in the name of tolerance.”

Oh, heaven forbid. Heaven forbid we sacrifice in the name of “tolerance”, a word I despise at its very core because it doesn’t have a lick to do with an educated acceptance, but rather a dismissive attitude of “fine, whatever, just don’t get in my way.” And… well tell me. Tell me what we’re sacrificing if we do, in fact, choose tolerance over intolerance? Peace? Harmony? What is the concern? That your views — who ever you are — may not stand up to scrutiny?

Not to mention, Mr. Dekker, that by requesting the freedom to declare your love for Jesus without disruption… that you, sir, are asking for tolerance?

And how, dare I ask, is it the Christian community (albeit a very small faction thereof) feels like they should be the voice for freedom of speech and religious freedom? This feels like the attack on Christmas of yesteryear where Wal-Mart customers were so put off by the idea that they wouldn’t be wished a “Merry Christmas” when checking out from Jesus-land. A mere, “Happy Holidays” just would not do. Too inclusive. An abomination.

I don’t even have the words. No more words than I’ve managed to spit out thus far. The hypocrisy should be evident.

It should also be evident that I won’t be reading this book. Maybe I should. Maybe there is a lesson to learn in all this. I’ll opt, however, to learn my lessons on the hard, tolerant streets, where religious freedoms are being stripped from Christians every single day. I know it’s what I thought about as I took a personal day to attend Yom Kippur services this year.

Leave a Reply

