Average Jane



Wicked Smart Wednesday: This one’s for the geeks

Alright my geekly-inclined bloglings, this one’s for you…

I was sitting at Guapo’s last night when I glanced down at my watch and realized my watch was wrong (again). I think the battery is dying. Unfortunately, this meant I didn’t catch on to this and ended up late for the meter, scoring a $35 ticket from a proud fuckwit of a metermaid. Fucker.

Neither here nor there.

After running out to feed the meter, we moved on to a second bar where I yet again glance down at my watch and comment out loud with the surety of a mathematical genius or a drunken fool… “My watch is broken. It’s losing a minute every hour.”

Had I had been with a lesser crowd, this comment would have been laughed off. I wish I knew lesser crowds. But now. Raindog decided to ponder aloud to his hot and wicked smart girlfriend, “So if it is losing a minute every hour, how long would it take to be the correct time again?”

20 minutes and a few napkins later, there was no answer. I had mentally moved on to, ya know, anything, as I was already reeling from losing the 50 states game earlier in the evening (Yes, CC. I still suck at the game.)

On the drive home, a text was sent to dial-a-genius Beaver who asked for a clarification: “Does it lose a whole minute every hour?” *sigh*

Now, a clarification he didn’t ask for was this: My watch has no am/pm distinction so technically, every 12 hours it’s the “correct” time again. 20 minutes hence he sent his answer. But I’m dying to hear yours.

For the record, here’s the question: If my watch loses 1 minute every hour, how long will it take to be the correct time again?

Post your answer in the comments, and don’t forget to show your work. Partial credit will be awarded 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Gavin says:

    If the watch loses 1 minute for each hour, that means in order for your watch to be correct, it has to have lost 12 hours, or 720 minutes. To lose 720 minutes will obviously take 720 hours, or 30 days. So your watch will tell the correct time once every month or so. Simple enough to calculate, for those not under the influence of beer 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * Maxie says:

    This made my brain hurt, but what gavin said makes since so I’m cheating off him.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Megan says:

    30 days- 60X12=720/24= 30

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Corey says:

    Depends on what day of the year it is… if its coming up on changing your clock back it can be as little as 2.5 days… other than that it is 30 days

    if say the clocks shift back on friday at midnight and you start losing at wednesday at noon you’ll be in for 60 hours hence 60 minutes and you wouldnt have to set your watch back…. BONUS!

    720 Hours with no time change or as much as 32.5 days if you set the clock forward…

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  5. * instatick says:

    Math generally hurts my head, but this actually made sense to me. If order for the watch to be correct again, it would need to have lost 12 hours, so…12(hours to get right again) x 60 (minutes in an hour) = 720 hours, or 30 days, or four weeks and 2 days.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  6. * Bill says:

    30 days.. see above for well reasoned explanations. But, I did think it out before I clicked on the “comments”

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

