Average Jane



The stuff of legends: He will be our President.

I didn’t know them, the mass of people surrounding me in an anonymous ballroom in an anonymous town on this election night. I didn’t know them when I got there, but I will never forget them.

We gathered to celebrate what seemed to be, finally, inevitable. Barack Obama would be our President. It was a fight well fought. A fight fought clean and with pride. We gathered to celebrate a man who is our future. The future. Not for democrats, but for all Americans.

The legendary force

What Barack Obama did was historic, but what his supporters did was legendary.

As states reported results, applause erupted. The excitement, I felt, was not because red states were turning blue. Not because “We got another one.” But because their voices were heard. The millions of activists, nee, community organizers, that mobilized to ensure that the best interests of their communities, their parents and grandparents, their children and grandchildren were looked after — their hard work, sweat, and tears were not for naught.

Working the late shift at the Obama headquarters last week, I processed “small dollar donations.” $2, $5, $10 from “unemployed” “student” “teacher”. I saw the address: North Avenue in Baltimore. I knew the $2 they sent with a 40-some cent stamp meant lunch for them. Meant part of a bill they already struggled to pay. I knew they knew something that maybe I still didn’t grasp the full scope of.

Working the polls today, fingers stiffening in the cold, damp weather and finally the rain, all I kept thinking was, “I could have done more. I saw people do more. I will do more next time.”

Standing with my fellow Democrats tonight, I felt the future shake the floorboards and walls of suburbia. I felt my job as a citizen become more critical. The catharsis of a “win” never came. My sense of accomplishment was quickly if not instantaneously replaced by an increased sense of duty. It’s in our hands now.

What Obama did tonight… I’ll never forget it. But it was the people in the room with me tonight, and the people just like them across this great country, that made this happen.

He is our vessel for change. We cannot let him down.

The news we were waiting for...

The news we were waiting for...

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. The sense of pride that WE, as a nation, CHANGED HISTORY.

    And we were part of it.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  2. * kjohnsonesq says:

    I keep trying to articulate what I’m feeling today. And here you did it for me.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  3. * instatick says:

    This win, this victory of change and hope has made me think anything is possible. It’s amazing and I am so, so proud of America.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago
  4. * Eva says:

    That was an amazing post. People are just so excited and jubulent today! 🙂 Here’s to the begining of taking our country back!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

