Average Jane



“Live Blogging” my job hunt – Butter Coated Coffee? Starbucks #3 + Chestnut Hill Coffee

With time on my hands, I opted to hit the road for my Thanksgiving Holiday early. Philadelphia bound!!!

The highways were miraculously clear — thank goodness. I created a Thanksgiving Road Trip mix CD for just this occasion*. The trip took just under 3 hours including 2 potty stops (go on, judge me) and cheap gas ($1.87 baby!!!!) I met grandma and Aunt #2 for lunch on one side of town. Totally stereotypical crappy diner. It’s one of the 3 places my grandmother will eat, though. Free lunch? Yes, please! Not to mention I really don’t see her often enough. It was good to catch up.

After my earlybird lunch, I hopped in my car headed for Aunt #1’s favorite coffee shop to get started on my day of “work”. My job-search-as-job plan will continue even though I am out of town.  Not that I know where my blog readers live, but let’s assume that some of them live in the Philadelphia Metro Area… this one’s for you!

Chestnut Hill Coffee Company: So cute. And that was just the barristo. 🙂 No, really. It’s a great little place. Nice and quiet. Plenty of outlets. Plenty of free wifi. Plenty of free refills for my coffee. So far, the only downfall is the parking situation which could set me back the price of 2 coffees more than I already had to order. Offsetting this small inconvenience is the awesomely crazy coffee roaster guy who may or may not own the place. Apparently upstairs they roast their own beans, which really shows in the taste of the coffee and the knowledge of the staff. Dude walks over and starts talking very loudly at someone over there —> He then hones in on me, “YOU NEED MORE COFFEE??” Umm… yeah. I could use some more, thanks! “YEAH? YOU KNOW WE ROAST OUR OWN!” Oh – wow. That’s great. This place came highly recommended. “OH YEAH? YOU SHOULD COME UPSTAIRS IF YOU NEED A BREAK. I’LL SHOW YOU HOW WE ROAST THE BEANS! K? OK!??” With enough creepy old man drama, I think I’ll pass on the personal tour, but it is pretty neat that there is a secret compartment upstairs for funtastic things like coffee making. When he returned with my coffee, he said, “YOU WANT SOME BUTTER!?” Thinking he was yelling at me, I, um, said… no? But it turns out he was talking to that woman —-> He didn’t laugh saying butter on coffee wasn’t so unusual! As a matter of fact, he bellowed, coffee has been around since before Jesus (that’s why people drink coffee before church. *crickets* yeah, I know. I told him that just shows that Jews have good taste. Get it? Before Jesus? *more crickets* Gah.) And back then they used to put butter on the beans after roasting or something. Anyway. This place is a total “win”! Total time: 2 hours and counting. Total Applications: 2, 1 more before I go.

Starbucks (3): So let me backtrack now to yesterday’s location of choice – The Starbucks in Rockville slapped onto the side of the Barnes and Noble. Now – let the distinction be recognized that there are cafes that brew Starbucks Coffee in most Barnes and Nobles. There, you can’t use starbucks gift cards, but you can use B&N gift cards. This is a true Stabucks that happens to be attached to a B&N. You can’t use B&N gift cards, but you can use Starbucks gift cards. Phew. Glad that’s cleared up. So – this is one of my favorite places to go to meet a particular friend of mine, but there are some shady characters that kind of live there. Seriously. They have their own tables that they aren’t keen to share or let you use in their absence (I guarantee they have narcs). They play backgammon and chess. They play music through their lap top speakers. They chain smoke. It’s kind of awesome. Anyway – they were there. And I was there. It was an uneventful few hours until I looked up and a seemingly homeless man had sat down at my table. He smelled. He said nothing. He asked no permission. He just sat there. No coffee. Staring. Silently. Smelling. It took me about 10 seconds to pack my shit and hit the road. I don’t think I’ll be returning to that location again. Ack!!! Total Time: 2 hours. Total applications: 3.

Alright, friends. Time to start my real vacation. Any by real vacation, I mean there is one or more applications to submit yet and then I’m going to my aunt’s house. And then I’ll be back tomorrow for more applications. *sigh*

*For your enjoyment, my Thanksgiving Road Trip playlist

Dear Sons And Daughters Of Hungry Ghosts – Wolf Parade
Fast Car [Fugee Remix] – Wyclef Jean Feat. Lupe Fiasco
I’m Yours – Jason Mraz
The Diary Of Jane – Breaking Benjamin
You Got Yr. Cherry Bomb – Spoon
Fall For You – Secondhand Serenade
Grey Street – Dave Matthews
Leyendecker – Battles
Land of Confusion – Disturbed
Mrs. Potters Lullaby – Counting Crows
The Bones of You – Elbow
What Goes Around… / …Comes Around Interlude – Justin Timberlake
Tegan & Sara / Where Does The Good Go – Various
Rip Out The Wings Of A Butterfly – HIM
On The Bus Mall – The Decemberists
Hear You Me – Jimmy Eat World

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Mr. Emily says:

    Yay JT!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * instatick says:

    The Decemberists are AMAZING! I keep trying to tell people about them but no one knows who are.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Joey O. says:

    Some of your readers ARE in the Philly Metro Area.

    Various artists playing Tegan & Sara’s “Where Does The Good Go?” 😉

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago


Leave a Reply

