Average Jane



QVC needs Twitter – and fast

I have recently taken a very strong interest in the world of possibilities Twitters holds as a marketing tool. Now – as a marketer, it’s kind of funny how much I HATE being marketed to. (Marketed to?) Point being – I know when I’m being targeted and it annoys the hell out of me. But I tell you, today QVC could have gotten me had they only been paying attention.

Shopping on Twitter – Shitter? It needs some work, but today I was sitting here on my couch, tv locked on QVC and on came these Technique silicone baking boards. So many pretty colors. So very non-stick. And only $13.85 + S&H!!! I have never in my life bought anything from QVC and yet I watch it constantly. What’s holding me back? The fact that I don’t know anyone else who buys things from QVC. I need some sort of connection to the process. It used to be so cutting edge, and now it seems to old fashion. Can it really be as easy as calling the 800 number on my “telephone” and telling them what I want? Really?!

So I am watching QVC and I see these pans — nee, baking boards — and naturally, I tweet about it. Then I realize, if QVC had twitter and saw that I was tweeting about one of their products – a simple dm could have pushed me over the edge to actually make that purchase. They sell products in real time. I could buy it in real time. I just needed a push. I did a search for QVC and didn’t see them anywhere. But I did see a whole bunch of people tweeting about QVC. Social marketing fail!

Before I lost my job, I was doing a lot of research on generating leads via twitter and eventually monetizing those leads. I am very new to this whole genre of marketing, but I know there is something out there. The ROI isn’t huge. It isn’t always immediate. But it is there. My friends don’t watch QVC. It’s too old fashioned. But if my friends are tweeting about whatever the “today’s special value” hapens to be and QVC searches for that term for the segment of time that their TSV is on the air… all they have to do is tweet that person and tell them it’s on TV RIGHT NOW! They can get a great deal RIGHT NOW! My people are “right now” people, and QVC is a “right now” company… They can do this. I know they can. Hell, they might already be doing it.

I am so excited about the possibilities of social marketing, “new media”… and how to start innovating even more. I just have to, like, figure out how to actually do it. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Katherine says:

    you’ll make somebody sooo much money. that probably came out wrong.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  2. * CC says:

    No foolin’, I just spewed coffee all over my desk from LOLing at the “Shitter” comment.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  3. * Sam says:

    You should probably guard your brilliant ideas jealously until someone agrees to pay you for them. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  4. * Eva says:

    Another addition to it – I admit to have been watching some silly ad on cable where you get three things for like $10 and been very close to buying it, but it just seems so bizarre to actually call them about.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Ibid says:

    You’re kidding. A close friend growing up and my first crush is a regular on late night QVC and I still never watch it.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 8 months ago
  6. * sameer says:

    Someone beat you to it:

    http://www.zdnetasia.com/news/hardware/0,39042972,62049475,00.htm

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Dan says:

    I don’t know if QVC needs Twitter, but Lisa Robertson VERY “literally” needs a psychiatrist. She says that damned word “literally” every five minutes! Mike George needs to suspend and retrain her or fire her.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

