Average Jane



“Live Blogging” my job hunt – Starbucks #4-5 + Quartermaine

It’s been exactly 2 weeks since I got laid off. I know this not by looking at the calendar, not my thinking back over the past 14 days of silent rejection, but because today was the day I went back to the dentist to get my crown put in. And in 2 weeks I’ll return again for my one month anniversary, as I left the office with my tattered temporary crown still in place. I gave a bad impression… the story of my fucking life. They took a new mold and sent it back to the lab, hoping this time for a better fit. (Can anyone else see a future blog post in the works?)

I took the Thanksgiving weekend off – 4 days free of applications, figuring no one was going to be looking anyway. While I felt like I was slacking off, I had my best of friends around me giving me the sense of family that I had missed a little bit over the holidays. I got a little tech support, a little moral support, and enough hugs to last until we see each other again.

But then it was back to “work”.

Starbucks #4 – Rockville, MD: Mistake, mistake, mistake. Big fucking bummer that my “home Starbucks” also happens to be the Starbucks closest to my old office. I thought I had picked a safe time to get some work done close to home, so I threw on my work outfit for the day (casual monday?) and took to the streets in my best sweatsuit. I sat down and got to work, finding one table near an outlet at the very back of the store. It was one of 4 tables, and the only with a power source. I had to wait my turn to get a seat. Not 20 minutes later, laptop open to an application, did a colleague walk in. I looked up. Down. Up. Down. Up- he saw me. I waived. He didn’t recognize me. Shocker. I waived again and he eventually came over.  He politely asked how I was doing and we made small talk until I realized he was looking a bit uncomfortable. I said I had to get back to work and he wished me well. He was always one of my favorites. I’ve been drinking Americano’s lately because Pike Place blend really does make me want to vomit. Total time: 2 hours. Total applications: 1.5. (One was a full time position, one was a contract.)

Quartermaine – Bethesda, MD – I get bored at night. There’s a certain point where my mind can’t think about big important things anymore, but I also can’t just turn off. So I took to Match.com for a little happy surfing. I have a saved search set up: “Tall Jew”. The only criteria are over 5’11” and Jewish. I came across an attractive young thing and noticed that he also claimed to have a visible tattoo. That’s like the trifecta. Tall, Jewish, tattooed. OK – that’s not true. CC can tell you the Trifecta is Tall, Jewish, Employed… but I have such a soft spot for ink. I decide to touch base. So I write him. He writes back. I notice only then that he is 23 and his age range goes up to the ripe ole age of 25. Thwarted. I tell him that we may not be a love match, but we should hang out. He agrees. He lives in Bethesda, so I decide this is the perfect opportunity to try out a local independent coffee shop that I’ve been dying to try. Quartermaine is a local roaster with free wifi and a great spot in town. I roll up in the afternoon and order an Americano. The coffee is… fine. After sitting down, a woman comes in and sees they have a java roast. “How’s the java?” she asks the barrista. “I have no idea.” He replies. They giggle. “No – really, how is it?” “I really don’t know. I don’t drink coffee.” Hmm… Fail. After a while, I have to pee. I go to the bathroom and find no toilet paper so naturally, I go up and awkwardly request that the bathroom be attended to. (“Um – can I have some toilet paper?”) Mr. No Coffee replies… “I don’t know if we got any. I guess I gotta check downstairs.” There is a meeting of the numbnuts. I hear whispers of, “Well, should I go get some?” and then I see one of them leave the store… only to return 15 minutes later with a bagel in hand. I cross my legs tightly and eagerly await my fr-ate (friend-date?).  He shows up and I warn him off the bat of the toilet paper situation. He appreciates my concern. The rest of the afternoon is amazing. Total time: 1.5 hours. Total applications: 0. Total new friends: 1. Win!

Starbucks #5 – Kentlands, Gaithersburg, MD – This was a quick stop. I was meeting my old colleague (one who got laid off, too) at 10 and I arrived about 30 minutes early. Again, a significant lack of outlet-ready tables are available, but I spot one in the back. I check my email and order my “business cards”. Against Mr. Emily’s advice, I include a witty tagline. Let’s just say I fast-tracked my 2-week waiting period. He says I’ll regret being witty. With only 250 cards, I’m not too concerned with being married to it. The only observation I can truly make about that Starbucks in particular is that everyone in there was white. I swear. I mean – it’s been a running joke with my friends that everyone in Kentlands is white even though that area surely has a minority majority, but I looked around in shock that it was actually true.

I went back to Starbucks #1 today to send out two job apps that I found at Quartermaine but didn’t get a chance to apply to. By far my most productive/time stop yet. I didn’t want coffee, they didn’t have Izze, so I sat there and stole used their internet for 20 minutes. Total applications: 2. Rawk!

So now I’m sitting in Starbucks #6 – Wintergreen Plaza, Rockville, MD – I figured this was going to be a nice place to get some heavy work done but my brain is absolutely shot. I am going to do some research, find a few places to apply tomorrow, and then hit the gym. It’s so lame here. I think I have to take a Starbucks break for a few days. I saw a little indie place over in Kentlands today that I’m going to try out tomorrow, and I am going to try… the library. Hey, since I blatantly ignored Mr. Emily on one thing, I owe him one, right?

My friend over at MileHighBuzz.com has a little map of all the coffee shops he’s gone to. You think I should set one of those up?

22 applications down. Not a fucking peep back. Wish me luck!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Maxie says:

    I think you should write a book about all of the coffee shops in the DC area. Hey, I’d buy it.

    Or at least start a blog ranking them. Maybe then they’d give you free coffee as a bribe.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Katherine says:

    a huge fucking hooray for Quartermaine (well not the TP, wtf)

    that Starbucks blows. i can never get any work done there and there’s always some old guy hogging all the ports. sorry about the awkward exchange. 😦

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Beth says:

    This sounds odd, but I really enjoy your live-blogging posts. I’m sure there’s a bit of the mundane to sending in applications from coffee shops, but you give it a bit of a positive spin. Not that I envy your position.

    I’m also impressed that you manage to get things done at coffee shops. A friend always does his homework at a local coffee shop, and I’m too much of a people person to even give it a try. I’d be constantly looking up to see who walked in…so distracting. G’luck on the job hunt.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. * k8 says:

    When I was looking for a job (and will be doing so again soon….), I did find solace in the library. Kept me focused and when I was done, I was done. I packed up and left. There’s something about the library that keeps your nose to the grindstone.

    And less caffeine induced freaking out about not being employed….

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Eva says:

    map, map, map!!! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Just Donna says:

    i am delighted by your candor and let’s say…”Grrrrrrrr”. You need to write a book, girl, not a blog!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

