Average Jane



Finally – It’s over

I found out about my new job as unceremoniously as I found out I lost my last one.

3 months ago today, I was at the dentists office getting an ilfitted crown jammed into my mouth until it was finally decided that a new one needed to be cast.

3 months ago today, I frantically texted my colleague to tell her I would be late for a meeting with the VP. That she needed to tell her I’d be there as soon as possible.

3 months ago today, I nonchalantly walked by 2 colleagues carrying boxes to their cars as I scurried into my building for the last time.

3 months ago today, I was stopped by my coworker and told about a horrible accident. Car crash. Hospital. Unconscious.

3 months ago today, I opened a door to a small conference room, duped into meeting my fate.

In the past 3 months, I have applied to approximately 48 jobs. Visited over 30 coffee shops and drank enough coffee to put me off coffee… almost. I have had over 10 interviews. I have had more job-related heartbreak than every bad date I’ve been on. (That actually might be a lie. I’ve had some pretty bad dates.)

In the past 3 months, my friends rallied around me as best they could from across the parking lot, across the country, and across the Atlantic.  My former colleagues kept me going, reminding me that the right opportunity would come along.

And it did.

Today, 3 months later, after being found on Monster, 3 interviews, and a lot of hoping and praying, I will take that opportunity and run with it to its fullest.

I got the call while walking through Kohls. “Hi, Jane. Do you have time to talk?”

“Well, HR VP, I’m wandering through Kohls, so I can’t think of a better time!”

We talked about the job, the benefits… and the pay. They got close enough. I had to take it. I was thrilled to take it. So right there in the fitness wear section at Kohls at Rio… I got myself a job.

There are things I will miss about being unemployed. Going to the gym any damn time I please. My West Wing/West Wing/Peoples Court/Peoples Court mornings. (That gets me from 8am – noon.) Hanging out with PRSlaveDC and playing rummikub. Running errands at stores with no lines. The look of pity on people’s faces when I tell them I’m “between jobs”.

Maybe not the last one.

That is one thing I won’t miss. When you got a party, especially in DC, the first of 3 questions typically include “So, what do you do? Where do you work?” And my answer inevitably was, “I’m in marketing.” If they persisted, it went to, “Oh, I am between jobs.” Or, if I was feeling particularly feistsy, “I got laid off in November.” That always send a small shockwave into the air, making all parties slightly uncomfortable. “I’m so sorry. Times are tough.” Yeah. I know.

I almost moved away. Philadelphia, specifically. But as I walked through the cold, cold rain to the National Gallery of Art yesterday, I realized I couldn’t be happier to stay right here. It was my first trip to the gallery ever (excepting a probably field trip in my youth). I have so much to see here. So much more to do. DC isn’t done with me yet. I’m not done with it either.

So, my dear bloglings, today is a new beginning. I had a small 3 month hiatus from the real world. I got to see who my true friends were, and was pleasantly surprised by what I found.

And in closing, I’d like to say…. Motherfuckingpaycheck bitches!!!!!!

🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Super!
    Hope this job is awesome!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * Katherine says:

    I AM SO EXCITED.

    (Also, wtf, I’m sorry people said I was unconscious. I was totally conscious for everything.)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Emily says:

    Congratulations!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. Congrats on the new job. I have been there. So much of your identity is related to your job that when you don’t have one you feel…rudderless.

    My first job offer after law school my cell rang when I was in the law library. This idiot woman started shushing me and trying to lecture me as I was walking to the door and talking to the person who was about to put my worries about student loans to rest.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. * Beach Bum says:

    Yay, congrats!!!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  6. Congratulations!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  7. Congratulations on the new gig. Champagne’s on me next time.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  8. * Joey O. says:

    You called to ask me about Andre the Giant, yet you didn’t tell me what your new job is! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  9. * Bill the traveling salesman says:

    Congratulations. Your example gives hope to so many others. Thank you for telling your story as it unfolded.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  10. * Mary says:

    Some day I will get an interview. Then maybe I will get a job too. I know this much, someone is hiring. Congrats. I remain undaunted.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  11. * Maxie says:

    congrats on the new job!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

