Average Jane



Maternal Wisdom FTW

Mom’s in town. Over a lovely early Spring hot chocolate at the ice cream shop around the corner, mom and I had a heart to heart:

Average Jane: Why get married?! I mean, why bother? Would you get into a car knowing you’d crash over half the time? Would you walk around outside knowing half the time you’d get struck by lightning? Would you?!? Why get married, then? Why?

Mom: There are some really big tax advantages to marriage.

Yup. That’s my mom.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Love on sale? How could I say no… « Average Jane pingbacked on 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. Mothers and the Zen of Jewish Dating « Average Jane pingbacked on 8 years, 3 months ago
  3. Why I Never Ask Dad For Dating Advice « Average Jane pingbacked on 8 years, 1 month ago

Comments

  1. * Jessica:) says:

    Hello to MommyKnish for me please!!

    See you soon?!

    Hugs!

    MommyKnish surely sends her “hellos” to you, too! And yes, of course you’ll see me soon. If you were ever in town and didn’t play with me I’d come out to that God forsaken town of yours and beat you silly 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * sameer says:

    So, is your mom seeing anyone?

    My father, to her chagrin.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Belle says:

    Your mom sounds awesome. 🙂

    Ya know, for what it’s worth, my mom is awesome.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. Well, I don’t know about you, but marriage can be good. I’d have someone to cook for me and do my laundry and to have sex with when my mistress is having her period. When you throw in the tax benefits, it seems like a no brainer to me.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. “Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.” – Douglas Adams

    The tax benefits explain a lot, too.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  6. * M@ says:

    God, I love the Jews!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 6 months ago


Leave a Reply

