Average Jane



You’re a Beautiful Wreck: A love song from my exes

My exes are saints. I have often said how bad I feel for the men who have ever been brave/dumb enough to date me. To say I am damaged, to say I am a work in progress, to say I am perhaps more trouble than I’m worth… All fair. All true.

And while not every girl is lucky enough to have a song written about her, some may say I have had more than most: Crazy Bitch and Crazy as a Good Thing to name a few.

This morning, though, I came across a love song. A song that could have been written by any of my exes, and one that I couldn’t blame them for writing.

The song is called “Beautiful Wreck” by Shawn Mullins. And if you know me, or have dated me, you’ll understand why it’s kind of my anthem.

Beautiful Wreck

I’ve lost count of the times I given up on you
But you make such a beautiful wreck, you do
There’s a tavern on the corner called the Milky Way
And you look so at home there it makes me afraid

And at the dark end of this bar
What a beautiful wreck you are
When you go too far, beautiful wreck you are

Like all the plans that you had from seven years ago
Like all the promises you made I watched them come and go
You put your keys in the car but it wouldn’t drive
With your hands on the wheel, lookin’ barely alive

I’m still sitting here waiting on the passenger side
For you to make up your mind

For you to make up your mind

What a beautiful, such a beautiful, beautiful wreck you are
What a beautiful, such a beautiful, beautiful wreck

I’ve lost count of the times I given up on you
But you make such a beautiful wreck, you do
Yeah, you make such a beautiful wreck, you do
You make such a beautiful wreck, you do

Country music does it again.

What’s your anthem?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Eva says:

    Cheryl Crow “Soak up the Sun” and The Boy Least Likely To “When Life Gives Me Lemons I Make Lemonade” 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  2. * Hammer says:

    I dunno about anthem, but for the last few weeks I’ve been drawn to some of the life parallels in Hymn #101 by Joe Pug. When I’m in bittersweet honky-tonk mode, I also find myself going back to It Ain’t Easy Being Me by Chris Knight. (Which thematically kind of fits with your more recent post, come to think of it.)

    Reflection is essential, but don’t beat yourself up too much, ‘kay? Your thoughtfulness is a welcome voice in a largely reactive, snark-filled and under-the-bus-chucking internet where folks get stuck in ruts of self so deep they can’t see over the top of them.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  3. * Rob T says:

    PEace – I love the song and have to say life is not what we thought it was going to be EH?

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago


Leave a Reply

