Average Jane



Rejection Letter FTW!

When I opened my mailbox yesterday, I saw two items waiting patiently in the shadows: Prevention Magazine (do.not.ask.) and an unfamiliar white envelope… with a handwritten address and… a stamp.

Please understand that these days, the only mail I receive is the RedPlum coupon flyer, Self Magazine from my favorite former boss, and credit card statements that I have tried to receive online to no avail. Oh, and wedding invitations (almost as depressing as the credit card statements…blah). So when I saw this beautiful, pristine, white linen envelope, I was really excited.

Upon examining the return address, I saw that it was from a company I applied to (#15 of 25 applications) about two weeks ago. While it has been many moons since the time of college acceptance/rejection letters, I felt the entire process flooding back to me like a bad dream. I remembered that acceptance letters come in big thick envelopes with lots of fun information, dancing monkeys, and cork-popping champagne bottles. Rejection letters, from what I hear, are sad, one-pagers politely thanking you for applying but regretfully informing you that you suck a little and should go fuck yourself.

I mean, I never got a rejection letter in college, so I wouldn’t know.

Clearly, this letter was the latter. And, in fact, it did reject me, but in the most amazing way. It was professional and polite. But more importantly, it existed. I have applied to over 60 jobs between my last job hunt starting 8 or so months ago and this one which I kicked off in June. Sure, I’ve received the automatically generated email message from a few companies, but for the most part the applications I sent off into the ethos have disappeared. *Poof*

Honestly, I want to send a letter back to this company thanking them for the rejection letter. It would be facetious, either. I genuinely appreciated receiving the letter, and respect the company SO much more for sending it. I would summarily recommend this company for anyone to work for even though they clearly thing I’m a piece of shit. Fuckers. But nice fuckers!

As a matter of fact, I believe that rejection letters should be standard practice in not only job hunting, but dating as well. I think that there should absolutely be such closure on all relationships. I tell you, this whole job hunting thing combines the worst parts of dating (courting and rejection) with the worst part of real life (money and health care). If you don’t woo the employer with your skills and all of the je ne sais quoi they are looking for, you just wait, hoping for the phone call, the email, the anything that gives you permission to move on with your life. If only boys, and potential employers, would have the decency to just flat out reject a person instead of leaving them hanging out there waiting, wondering… well, the world would be a better place.

Plus, my dad gets his pension from the Postal Service, so every stamp helps. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cuteellaisbold says:

    That was so kind of them! I too hate how when you don’t “make the cut” to be interviewed for a job you just disappear…

    I think next time I get a rejection letter, I’ll send a thank you back. If I ever get one…

    But as for the guys, I’m not sure many who behave in such a way can actually write so it might be a problem. Otherwise, they should send one too. Even if it just says, “I’m sorry we can’t date, I suck at life.”

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  2. When I was young and foolish I used to send demos to record companies and would subsequently be regaled with the most amazing boilerplate rejection crap.

    I composed a form letter that I would send in response, informing them that I was not accepting rejections at that time.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Eva says:

    When I was applying to law school, I got many rejections letters. 🙂 But one in particular, from William and Mary, was really nice. They didn’t make me feel like crap even though they obviously didn’t want me. It is just a nice way to do things. 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  4. * John says:

    Ugh, college rejection letters were so annoying. (I got 4, 1 less than the number of schools I applied to.) The weirdest rejection letter I ever got was for grad school. When NYU said, “No thanks,” to me about joining their Magazine program and then offered me admission into a different Masters program. How strange. That drove me nuts.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  5. * Danielle says:

    That sounds like the best rejection ever. I do think it’s nice to hear something back… it’s all about the closure.

    My old job was really good about sending out rejection letters to applicants– a little too good. I got accepted for the job, but then a few days letter I received a rejection letter. I called them in a panic, but they said I still had the job and it was a clerical error. Just like the dating world, even jobs can send you mixed messages.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  6. * Mary says:

    This is my first time reading your blog. I LOVE it!!!
    Definitely agree that it is extremely nice to receive a rejection letter (besides that whole idea that you’re being rejected) and the closure thing on relationships.

    Average Jane, you’re not so average. You’re cool.

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  7. * DAMINK says:

    LMAO @Bobby lightfoot.
    However i think its great some companies spend the time to do this.
    It does not happen in where i am from.
    As for partnerships. LMAO again. That was a good laugh thankyou.
    And its my first time reading your blog also.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

