Average Jane



Learning to Leave Well Enough Alone (or, Arlington Needs a Fucking Hobby)

I should have just gone home.

It was a wonderful day. A full day. I topped it off with my first yoga class in months.

I dedicated my practice to “wisdom.”

Wisdom, however, escaped me as I called my friend who lived close by for a quick visit on my way home.
It went by the wayside as I pulled into the parking spot marked “Future Resident Parking – Permit Required.”

With the dog twitching anxiously at the front door, we wrapped around the building to find a bench. Twenty minutes later, it was time for me to go home. The long day, the wonderful day, was good enough. The yoga class was good enough. But the hours at home before bed loomed over me, and I feared going home and finding solace from my loneliness in the fridge where cold comfort lives.

And when I went to find my car, there was no car to be found. Towed. Gone. My baby. The one thing in this world that I own had been stolen… legally. But it was my fault. I broke the law brazenly. $115 worth of pride.  A price I can’t afford to pay. A lesson I can’t afford to learn.

I cried. Responding to the tow clerk’s inquiry, “Are you OK?” with “No. I’m not.” If she cared, I’d be shocked. If she was expecting a different response… she couldn’t have. I didn’t yell at her. I didn’t tell her they were fucking assholes. It was futile and this was her job. But let the record show. They were fucking assholes. And all I wanted was to go back in time. My night was fine. It was wonderful. I’d go back in time and leave well enough alone.

As I drove off the lot, the tears flowed and flowed. Disappointment. Anger. Resignation. It’s only money.

It’s only money.

And it was my fault after all.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * cuteellaisbold says:

    I hated learning that lesson too. Seriously, is this the most pressing thing they have to deal with?

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Anouk says:

    I hate parking in Arlington. I JUST got ticketed last night and they got me within 9 minutes of an expired meter. AAAAHHHH!!!!

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago


Leave a Reply

