Average Jane



The Good, The Bad, and Danny Bonaduce

Today marks a week since I was wheels up in DC en route to Philadelphia. The week has been a rollercoaster of emotion and confusion, filling my days with activity and excitement but turning my restful nights restless. Naturally, mama’s got stories to tell.

The Good: My job is fucking amazing. Fuck-ing. Amaz-ing. Day 1 was training included an introduction from the super hot CEO, catered lunch, and happy hour featuring Rock Band: Beatles. I got my laptop and my BlackBerry is coming. I wish I could say they were just fun toys, but apparently I am going to be really really really busy. Thankfully I get to be that busy in jeans and a t-shirt… flip flops or slippers if I like. Picking my work outfit is finally fun since it involves absolutely anything I fucking want. Bitches. I am going to buy a BOSU Ball to sit on which may help my back. Things are good, but work is just starting. You people should be jealous you don’t work there. You might, though. We’ll never know…

The Bad: I cannot for my life find a fucking apartment. Yes, my standards are too high, going from living in new construction in da burbs to trying to move Center City, near the train, and the highway, and the market. And bars. OK OK OK I get it. It’s unrealistic. I know the neighborhoods I want to move to, but holy HELL car insurance is expensive and I am going to be paying 2 rents for 5 months since mama can’t get rid of her apartment in VA. Long. Story. So for now I am staying with my Aunt and Uncle in what looks like the burbs but is actually The City, a feature of this town that drives me nuts. That means they rape you with taxes and insurance up to half an hour outside of anything awesome and city-like. Aunt and Uncle are desperately in love and make me want to do a combination of vomit and run out and get married. Awkward situation, but I think it’ll do. They say I can stay here as long as I need to, and with a hot meal waiting for me when I get home from work every night, I think I could get used to this. Except for the cats.

Danny Bonaduce: AKA “The Ugly.” Apparently Mr. Bonaduce is back on the radio up here in Philly. I stumbled upon his morning show last week, and thus far have caught segments focusing on “Sex in the Workplace a la David Letterman” and “Behind the Scenes at a Gentleman’s Club.” The only problem is, all I hear is “wah wah Me, wah Me Me Me, wah wah wah Me.” The entire show is a shrine to Danny Bonaduce and his admitted sex addiction, acrimonious marriage and divorce, and his girlfriend who apparently keeps him, with good reason, on a very short leash. And then more about him. Again. It’s going to take some significant getting used to. One thing I can say is outside of this morning show, the radio situation in Philly is better. Way better. 100% better. In that there is a radio situation. They have 3 rock stations, and an indie station that plays a collection of everything awesome. Right now they are playing the 885 Desert Island Songs during their pledge drive. “Top 885” of anything = Awesome.

So here I am on Day 3 of work, Day 7 in Philly. I’ missing DC and missing a “home” but loving every minute of it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Emily says:

    Sounds like a pretty good start!

    I hear ya on the struggle to find the perfect apt. I recently went through that here in NYC. I finally had to prioritize what I wanted the most between price, space, convenient location and amenities. Just sign a year lease, and then you can move again (because it’s so much fun) when you learn more about the different areas.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
  2. * John says:

    You definitely upgraded on the radio dial by moving from DC to Philly. So much more there! Enjoy.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
    • Love that WXPN! Miss it. Good luck in your new gig and city. Sounds like a blast. Want to hear more about the job! What kind of job?

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

