Average Jane



I am a Phillies Fan (and other lessons from my new home town)

It’s been a while since I’ve adopted a new hometown. There was my first move to Miami, my semester in England, a year in Seattle, but none of them were “home.” When I moved back to the DC Metro area, it was like putting on an old shoe. I stepped in a lot of shit, but ultimately it was comfortable and familiar and… home.

Relocating to Philadelphia has been the first relocation that feels permanent, like this may end up being “home” afterall.

One thing I forgot about relocating is that there is a HUGE learning curve. There are things about the town and things about work. Funky roads and new malls. Here are just some of the lessons I’ve learned in the first few weeks.

  • I am a Phillies Fan. Apparently, no matter where you are from or who you support, it’s safer to just say you’re a Phillies/Eagles/Flyers fan than have to endure the wrath of the locals who, apparently, have never heard of “friendly” competition.
  • Do not put things on top of the tampon machine in the bathroom. There is a little auto-scent-poofer that goes off every so often that apparently leaks vanilla scented oiliness right onto the top of the tampon machine. I learned this when I picked up my notebook and lost a page of notes.
  • Roads make no sense to anyone in any town anywhere. Just when I mastered the convoluted mess of interconnected, one-way-the-wrong-way streets in DC, I come to a town with an even worse system. Mr. L’Enfant did a damn good job if you ask me.
  • I am not city mouse. Granted, I’ve only been here 2 weeks, but I think I finally have to admit I have no interest in living downtown. Or “Center City” or whatever they call that 2 square mile mess of roads and cars and attractive co-eds. I want to have a parking space. I love my car. And “mostly safe” doesn’t cut it for me. So suck it.
  • The “City” Philadelphia extends clear into New Jersey and more than likely Ohio or whatever is left of Pennsylvania. No. Seriously. I tried to find a “suburb” to live in to avoid paying the ridiculous city wage tax, and it is NOT that easy! The city is a county or the other way around and it is just HUGE! There are parts of Philly that look like the quietest suburban neighborhood ever, but I’m warned, “You just be careful. This is the city you know.” And they mean it! It’s like crime goes by zipcode rather than quality of neighborhood.
  • Work can be awesome. And it is.

I miss MD and VA and all of my people therein, but I am having a blast. More to come!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. I went to college just outside of Philly. What about Ardmore or Wynnewood? Not suburban, but there are reserved parking sports to be had…

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. * Emily says:

    Great post! Makes me think about what I’ve learned since moving to NYC…

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Debbie says:

    Welcome to Philly!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

