Average Jane



Confession

I stand in front of the refrigerator at night. I stand there and pick my poison, one comestible at a time. I eat what I can get my hands on. I eat standing up. I eat condiments with a spoon. I eat deli meat with my fingers. I eat as though I am compelled to do so against my will. The little voice in my head tells me to do it. And then it tells me not to. But my feet, ever stronger than my will, compel me to the kitchen. My hands, the ones that comfort, the ones that heal, fill my voids with food.

I confess this in hopes that I will find support. I confess this because I am powerless over food. I confess this because I have no one else to confess this to who will understand. Not that you will. But you might.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Katherine says:

    Oh. I dooo.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  2. * Jessica:) says:

    Hey, feel free to call me instead of the fridge. I’m happy to talk and distract you, or just listen. If I’m awake the phone is on; if i’m not, it’s on silent. I’m far away, but I’m right here!!

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  3. * Megan says:

    You are so not alone.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  4. * Kelsey says:

    I am SO guilty of this. I’ve started just grabbing the milk each time and just pouring myself a glass.

    | Reply Posted 7 years ago
  5. * Heidi says:

    Try keeping cooked spaghetti in the fridge.

    No, I’m not kidding.

    Whenever I’m drunk or partaking of the herb, I get very hungry between the time of feeling the effects of my teeth vibrating and passing out. Cooked spaghetti not only fills the tummy, but keeps you from feeling sick and bloated. If you can manage to heat it up and add some butter or spread, and even a little garlic powder (hell, can you tell I live in the mid-West?), it makes it all the more satisfying.

    The bonus? Atkins died of a heart-attack; therefor, Atkins is bogus. If you are going to binge eat, at least eat something easy on the stomach to digest and won’t leave you feeling sick the next morning.

    Regardless, take care of yourself.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

