Average Jane



I have a blogging problem

A week or so ago, I was approached by a dude who wanted to buy this here blog. While the offer was generous, it didn’t feel right. This blog has been by baby, my voice. The only place I can, for the most part, post my deepest thoughts, feelings, and experiences and only be judged by you, my darling strangers. To you I am Jane, a snarky yet lovable (right?) blogger type with a crap love life, neurotic Jewish mother, and veritably retarded brother who, incidentally, is engaged.

But lately I’ve had a hard time blogging for you.  Blogged twice for work yesterday. Couldn’t STOP blogging. But I get home and I look at my life and don’t feel like it’s worth it to put “pen” to “paper”. My words just seem contrived. Life is exactly the same for me a year after moving to Philadelphia. My job is awesome. My apartment is awesome. But I have very few friends. I don’t have a boyfriend. My foot is still a mess. And I just don’t feel like burdening you, my strangers, with that drivel.

So perhaps I’ll rethink it all. I’ll reinvigorate my efforts! I’ll tell you awesome stories. I’ll make it worth you time. I promise. See you… soon!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Jessica:) says:

    Yaaaaaaaaaay…she’s BACK!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Emily says:

    Thanks for the post, as one of your devoted readers!

    Interesting that I too have been struggling to blog lately. A wise commenter told me that they value the ups and downs of my writing and simply the way I express myself. I would say the same to you: even if “nothing’s changed,” I encourage you to keep writing, even if it’s just a little bit. Keep chronicling your journey. And let us take ride with you!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Alex says:

    I can’t imagine selling a blog. Domains, sure… but writing is another matter. Maybe if a publisher wanted to gather everything up and put it into a book format (not that it would ever happen) and I’d get to stay involved, but a flat out purchase? That’s just… odd.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Heidi says:

    Philly, huh? I was there once for a business trip and loved it.

    I think anyone’s life if worth blogging about. Good, bad, or ugly, it’s probably one of the few human connections the Internet has not managed to bastardize. Reminiscing for the ‘clean’ Internet of the 1990s aside, blogging is the two-edge sword that works best either cutting down hype and lies, or cutting own wrists (metaphorically of course!).

    As long as you tell the ‘boring’ truth of your everyday life, please keep blogging. The mundane of the everyday is what many Anthropologists struggle to understand about ancient civilizations, more so than grandiose monarchies and their Kodak moment monoliths. When Anthropologists are willing to crawl down an ancient latrine in the hopes in discovering what the everyday working slob threw in there, then you know your mundane life isn’t as mundane as you thought.

    Please keep up the good work!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
    • * Heidi says:

      incidentally, for good or ill, I’m a little drunk on cheap champagne as I wrote that.

      Drunken text messages has nothing on drunken comments.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

