Average Jane



Throwing Like a Woman is Not a Bad Thing

“He looked like a woman throwing that ball.”

The comment hit me in an unexpected way. I didn’t know the guy and he wasn’t talking to me. In fact, they were talking about President Obama. Apparently the Former President GWB threw a “strike right down the middle of the plate!” at the Rangers game the other night. Something about a standing ovation. The gentleman was comparing that “amazing throw” to Obama’s pitch which “took a few bounces to get to home plate.”

“He looked like a woman throwing that ball,” (just to reset the stage) he said. He wasn’t talking to me. But in true Jane fashion, I just couldn’t keep my mouth shut.

“You know, I’m a woman and I’m standing right here.”

“Well…”

“I’m just saying, I’m a woman and I play ball and throw just fine. And incidentally, I can throw a tighter spiral than a lot of guys I know. You could have just as easily said, ‘He threw like an old man’.” I said to the old man.

“Bush looked like a pro out there. He looked really strong.”

“Well, he has a lot of time on his hands these days.”

I walked out seething. He wasn’t talking to me. I didn’t know the guy.

I don’t know what bothered me more. I’ll take a quick poll of what would bothered you, my level-headed readers the most:

  1. The President is busy Presidenting
  2. The President could SCHOOL Bush on the basketball court
  3. Women can throw just fine, thanks
  4. You probably shouldn’t say misogynistic things of that nature in front of, ya know, women

Gah. So, what asinine thing did someone say to you tonight?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Swing like a girl? Bet your ass I do. « Average Jane pingbacked on 5 years, 10 months ago

Comments

  1. * chris l says:

    You go, girl!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Emily says:

    Comments like that really piss me off, too! I’m so glad you said something to that knucklehead.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago
  3. * terra says:

    I HATE comments like that. Or anything that equates donig something “like a woman/girl” with being incapable. Good for you for saying something!!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

