Average Jane



Serenity Prayer

I went to dinner with my friend last night. Her dad died 14 years ago around Christmas time. I said, “This time of year must be hard. Didn’t your dad die around Christmas?” She said, “Yeah. But I don’t get upset about that. If anything, I get mad all over again thinking about what he a jerk he was. What he put my family through. Yeah – I don’t care that he’s not around, but I do get upset thinking about him.”

I think I finally know why I’m so mad that dad is killing himself, because when he’s gone, I won’t care.

In this new year, God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can, and wisdom to know the difference.

Amen.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Eva says:

    Amen – that prayer is so applicable to life in general. I love you m’dear 🙂

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

