Average Jane



JDateless and Loving It

You may have noticed a paucity of posts about my digital dating life. You. Are. Welcome. I’ve been experimenting with the idea of “meeting someone in real life.” Not like “real life” is the silver bullet. It does, however, help me work toward supporting my new theory on dating sites, singles events, etc.:

“Single isn’t an interest of mine.”

Now, I can hear you already: “But on dating sites, you get to know all about someone’s likes, dislikes, passions, interests, and more!”

Except you don’t. Because apparently every guy “loves the outdoors” and “is looking for a nice girl.” He is “really into music” and most likely “used to be in a band.” He has a “passion for life” and on a typical Friday night he’s “just chilling out with friends.”

Wait – what? You’ve been out with him, too?

So that leaves you with one thing in common: You both can’t get dates. You’re both single. And that’s not a hell of a lot to go on.

JDate was full of Jews who didn’t want to date. They wanted to fuck. And good on ’em. But honesty is the best policy isn’t it? And fucking Jews isn’t an interest of mine. Hmm… in that case, it is an interest of mine. But for the purpose of this conversation, let’s stipulate the following:

“interest” = (things I like to do) – (sex)

  • Art is an interest. I’ll hang out at galleries more.
  • Music is an interest. I’ll go to more concerts.
  • Geeks are an interest. I should find a LAN party or something? Or perhaps a hipster bar.
  • Politics are an interest. The Young Dems were a bust. But I’m sure there’s something else.
  • Fitness is an interest. Yoga class does have some boys!

So that’s the plan. Meet people in the wild, doing things I like doing. Sure, maybe that thing I like doing is drinking, but that’s something, isn’t it?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Shevonne says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Or you meet that one guy who strings you along by pretending that he is serious, and then three months down the road, he has an epiphany and realizes he isn’t ready for a serious relationship. I don’t know if it’s the actual dating site, or that DC is full of selfish individuals who don’t take the time to think about anyone but himself/herself. Good post!

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
    • Dating should be taken seriously. And to avoid meeting people that are not up to building a serious relationship, then don’t just trust websites that offer online dating. Choose only free christian dating sites. members there are usually serious Christians that are looking for someone they can grow up with.

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  2. * dccapoiera says:

    Well, if you are doing something you love, you give off a good energy and are more likely to come off as attractive than you if you are doing something you hate. If you hate meeting immature strangers for awkward coffee dates, then don’t do it. Besides, if you doing something that you are passionate about, and you meet somebody doing it, then odds are they are passionate about it too and you have a lot more in common than you would with a random person. Right?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 9 months ago
  3. * Andrew says:

    Jdate is worthless, but at the same time it’s funny if you want to play pranks. The problem I have with the majority (not all) of women on Jdate, and I find this with most jewish women as well, is that they are very Type A personality-wise. I can’t think of a girl who’s Type B that I’ve met from the site. I’m definitely 100% Type B, as are all of my friends, and I just don’t get why girls on the site are so strict, proper, traditional (huge turnoff) and speak their minds on every political issue. Girls are also obnoxiously picky on the site. I went on a date with this one broad and she labelled me vain because I’m a bodybuilder. WTF?!?! Another girl lectured me about growing up because when she asked me what I was up to on a Friday night, I replied I was watching Smackdown (wrestling). Another girl closed her IM on me after chatting for an hour because I told her I planned on getting a tattoo sleave in the next couple of years. I’d like to find a nice jewish girl on Jdate but I’ve given up. It’s a lot easier to go to a bar and get a few numbers then deal with this crap.

    | Reply Posted 6 years ago


Leave a Reply

