Average Jane



Moral Ambiguity

It was 8:30 in the morning and I was on my way back upstairs to my Las Vegas hotel room to prepare for the day. It had been a long night and I had a bad case of the “vodka sweats” after a quick run.  When I arrived on the 7th floor, there was a couple “necking” in the hallway. They were clearly on their way “home,” dressed in slightly wrinkled clothing rather than the crisp fresh look of a new day. Shifting from one wall to the other as I approached, I heard the following exchange as they separated from each other:

Him: Are you sure you want to do this?

She shrugs

Him: I mean, are you sure?

They were adults, mid-30s, so the coyness of the woman was surprising. In the split second between that conversation and my passing, I examined the scene in preparation for passing judgment. Which is when I saw it… her wedding ring.

I have now run this scenario by dozens of people. The question is always, “Who was “wrong” in this scenario?” Was it him for engaging with a married woman? Was it her for cheating on her husband? Was it both? Or was it neither? So far, opinions have differed based on gender, marital status and general moral standards, but I’m dying to know…

What do YOU think?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * vvk says:

    Both.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  2. * amanda says:

    huh. i can’t really see how it wouldn’t be both of them. if she’s wearing a ring, he’s noticed. and she’s stepping into it. what do you think?

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
    • * Average Jane says:

      I was waiting to hear what everyone had to say before posting my opinion. I guess, really, they are both to blame. With acknowledgement by both parties is guilt on both sides. He should not have been an option for a married woman and she should not have been an option for a single man. But I’m not in that situation, and maybe I just don’t know…

      | Reply Posted 6 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Emily says:

    I think a little for both but mostly her. She’s the one that made the commitment that she’s breaking.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  4. * terra says:

    I’d say both, but mostly her. Like Emily said, she’s the one breaking the commitment she’s made. Although, there’s a million details we don’t know about them. Maybe he’s the husband’s best friend, or married too but not wearing a ring. Maybe she’s recently separated from her husband. Maybe she’s not. It’s nifty to wonder about the full context of the situation.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 5 months ago
  5. * JJ says:

    I think if we are answering this question on the basis that she IS married and perusing with another man, HE is more to blame. She is obviously doubtful, and he is pushing her into the room.
    I think it would be awkward to see this situation!! ha

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

