Average Jane



Won’t Take “Alone” for an Answer

My life is all about waiting… Waiting for someone to call, waiting for the right one to come alone, waiting to feel like I’m not a big loser.

Last night I looked at the clock and realized it was 6:45. The concert I wanted to go to started in 15 minutes and no one wanted to go. I had no one else to call.  I thought for hours about the horror of going by myself. Friendless. Manless. Pathetic.

But then I said, Jane – You’re a grown as woman. Fuck it. Go. And go alone.

So I did.

Look – this post isn’t poetic. It isn’t really meant to be. It’s a declaration of independence. My life has been about waiting — waiting for friends to call, waiting for someone to notice me, waiting for the right man to come along… I’m done waiting. If there’s something I want to do, I’ll do it. I’ll do it and I’ll do it alone if I have to, because the people here in Philly who don’t call, who don’t want to be my friend, they don’t have a clue what they’re missing, they are the ones who should be upset. Not me.

It may not last forever, but for now I’m happy to say, proud to say, that I’m not afraid to be alone.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Emily says:

    You go, Jane! I wholeheartedly agree. No more waiting for life to happen.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  2. * tom says:

    Alone doesn’t fully describe the the unfulfilled desire to be connected to another, to be part of something greater than yourself. Twice in my life the lonelyness was driven away by another, but such things are not meant to last. It is good that you are at peace with yourself. I wish I could be at peace with myself again but that would mean forgetting her and the happyness we shared. She is gone and I am alone again except in my memories; where she will always be beatiful.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 2 months ago
  3. * Catherine says:

    I loved this. This is kind of where I am right now with taking a vacation. I have no one to go on vacation with. And I’m sick of waiting. I have the money and the time from work…. why keep waiting? I just need to decide where to go. I hope you enjoyed the concert.

    | Reply Posted 6 years, 1 month ago
  4. * JJ says:

    I agree. I think a lot of ppl feel alone. It’s frustrating to want to fully enjoy life and lusting to have fun and experience things but at the same time being insecure of “what people think.” fuck, your me.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

