Average Jane



Burdens, Blessings and Blogs

This blog, as neglected or exploited as it has been for the past 6 years, will serve as an archive of my life. There are things I’ve shared here that I have shared with no one else. It has been a burden and a blessing. The readers (hello!) are strangers and friends. You are unconditional supporters and unapologetic dissenters. You are, have been, and will be faceless members of my cyber-family.

But writing has become harder for me. It has become more burden than blessing. This blog feels so much different than it did years ago and I don’t know what to do about it. I sit in front of my computer and stare at a very white, very intimidating empty box and wonder what the hell to fill it with. Does anyone care anymore? What’s the point? The little nothings I would craft into elaborate stories filled with fantastic characters from my life fall by the wayside, trapped in my fingers instead of flowing through keyboard onto this page.

It’s lonely, though. For someone who calls myself a writer not to write is like losing a best friend. All I can do it try to make writing a practice just like my yoga, just like going to Shabbat Services. Just like eating and breathing, so, too, should writing me a part of my life sustaining me as it did through so many hard times before.

This is not a resolution. This is a prayer for change.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Becca says:

    “This blog feels so much different than it did years ago and I don’t know what to do about it.”

    OMG, me too. I am at the point of just saying “OK, done” but is that different than just writing once every blue moon and leaving it be? I really don’t know. I just know that I really don’t have much to say anymore.

    Anyway, thanks for writing this and I do hope you keep writing, even sporadically. Happy new year!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago
  2. * terra says:

    Sometimes I think there’s nothing scarier than staring at that empty white box with a blinking curser. It keeps me away from blogging so often just because I hate looking at it.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

